Saturday, August 11, 2018
Saturday, August 04, 2018

As if people weren’t problem enough, society must increasingly contend with their dogs. Under the moniker "fur babies," many are indulged and allowed to be as infantile as they wish, with owners excusing the barking-mad animal straining at the lea…

Saturday, July 28, 2018

The bane and benefit of the English language is that it’s always in flux. New words evolve at an alarming rate, the product of a society constantly in search of self-expression. And while English has never been a creator of complicated compound no…

Saturday, July 21, 2018

There’s a line in the show "Sons of Anarchy" where gang member Jimmy Smits says, “I prefer more patina on my precious metal.” He’s coming on to biker matriarch Katey Sagal, an older woman on TV who upstages the men for mayhem and sex appeal.

Saturday, July 14, 2018

America’s current difficulty is not so much with China but with china. It seems millennials and Generation X'ers are refusing to come to the table and deal with grandmother’s plates and demitasse cups. Her Wedgewood doesn’t suit their sofa-with-ce…

Saturday, July 07, 2018
Saturday, June 30, 2018
Saturday, June 23, 2018
Saturday, June 16, 2018
Saturday, June 09, 2018
Saturday, June 02, 2018
Saturday, May 26, 2018
Saturday, May 19, 2018

We knew it would get here eventually. The wedding of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry, with all the world’s eyes on the dress. Designers sketched out their speculations for months ahead of time, news outlets teased and what Markle wore will influenc…

Saturday, May 12, 2018

A local chef recently told me the old dishes are coming back, and when he meets women, he likes to steal their mothers’ recipes. Women have always handed their history down this way. Mother to daughter, dishes passed through the generations, carry…

Saturday, May 05, 2018
Saturday, April 28, 2018
Saturday, April 21, 2018

For those still in the midst of spring cleaning, you should know that in addition to having a bedscape — an entire room that expresses how you are personally at the end of your day — you must have an end-of-the-bedscape as well, addressing what to…

Saturday, April 14, 2018
Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Saturday, April 07, 2018
Saturday, March 31, 2018
Saturday, March 24, 2018
Saturday, March 17, 2018
Saturday, March 10, 2018
Saturday, March 03, 2018
Thursday, March 01, 2018
Saturday, February 24, 2018
Saturday, February 17, 2018
Saturday, February 10, 2018
Saturday, February 03, 2018
Friday, February 02, 2018
Saturday, January 27, 2018

Clearly Brexit hasn’t held some Brits back. Ever mad for class distinctions, the hot trend is canine couture, according to the Secret World of Posh Pets. With the same silk and Solstiss lace additions as the real deal and no, it’s not the queen’s …

Saturday, January 20, 2018
Saturday, January 13, 2018

With 2017 in the rearview mirror, it’s time for a parting wave to the word of the year — truth — according to the Global Language Monitor. It seems many Americans bandied this about this past year, possibly because of the news and those accused of…

Saturday, January 06, 2018

Every New Year is a time for reckoning — out with the old, in with the new, and nowhere more so than in the fashion industry. Designers already have decided what will stay and what will go, and if you plan to be au courant, you’ll have to go full …

Saturday, December 30, 2017
Thursday, December 28, 2017
Tuesday, December 26, 2017

The Lafayette Garden Club convened at the UL Alumni House for Christmas cheer and those ladies inducted into the Circle of Roses. The favored few — Cathy Andrew, Maggie Chiasson, President Diana Nolan and Margo Racca — were recognized for their le…

Saturday, December 23, 2017

Christmas is coming, the geese are getting fat, please have your package wrapped, remember where you’re at. I happen to love the U.S. Postal Service, particularly since that cold Christmas Day when they brought the package from my far-away daughter.

Tuesday, December 19, 2017

United Way of Acadiana treated its donors to a cocktail party in the lobby of the Iberiabank Tower downtown. An annual affair, “Spirit of Giving” is a thank-you to supporters for their monetary gifts during the year, and this year’s guest of honor…

Saturday, December 16, 2017

It’s that time of year again, and while Santa may still be making his list and checking it twice, I already know who’s been bad. Ladies and gentlemen, this year’s Naughty List. No names necessary, they know who they are.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

The really naughty guys from last year must’ve gone hunting, for all was tame as Van Eaton & Romero hosted its annual office party and ugly sweater contest at Le Pavillion. Judged by none other than Fête and A.J. McGee, of Right Angle, the reg…

Saturday, December 09, 2017

It’s time for that holiday social institution, the office party. Long the bane of bosses and employees alike, alcohol doesn’t help the phenomenon. But while there’s little that can be done to duck one, there are things to avoid saying that will im…

Tuesday, December 05, 2017

The grande dame of women's Mardi Gras krewes in Lafayette will celebrate its 50th anniversary ball this coming season. Attakapas has already begun marking the milestone with an elaborate anniversary party at Acadian Village and custom T-shirts dep…

Saturday, December 02, 2017
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Saturday, November 25, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Elegant indeed. The Krewe of Victoria formally announced their royalty, Queen Victoria Renee Borne and her consort, Prince Albert Johnny Plasencia, at a City Club soiree. Victoria is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year and had the ice sculp…

Saturday, November 18, 2017