LAFAYETTE —The Diocese of Lafayette will honor 88 people, representing 87 church parishes and one ladies auxiliary court, on Friday during its annual Martin Luther King Jr. Mass and Award Ceremony Celebration at the St. John Cathedral.

Those recognized exemplify King’s traits, said Stephanie Bernard, director of the diocese’s Office of Black Catholic Ministries, which sponsors the event.

The Most Rev. Michael Jarrell, bishop of the diocese, will preside over the program and serve as celebrant.

The Rev. Micahel Sucharski, S.V.D., pastor of St. Joseph Catholic Church in Maurice, will serve as homilist.

The 2013 MLK award recipients are:

Linda Woodruff of St. Mary Magdalen Christian Service Center in Abbeville; Ada Johnson and Lois Jordan of St. Theresa of the Child Jesus in Abbeville; Percy Baltazar of St. Catherine of Alexandria in Arnaudville; Northly Broussard, Verlie Davis and Isaac Thomas St. Francis of Assisi in Breaux Bridge; Mary Gordon and Rita LeDoux of Sacred Heart in Broussard; Lionel Ryes, Sr. of St. Joseph in Broussard; Laura Broussard of Our Lady of the Assumption in Carencro; Richard Calais and Jim Martin of St. Joseph Catholic Church in Cecilia; Geraldine Calais and Dianne Frederick of St. Rose of Lima Catholic Church in Cecilia; Wallace Citizen and Ella M. “Jane” Savoy of Our Mother of Mercy Catholic Church in Church Point; Charlesa Bernard of St. Theresa of Avila Catholic Church in Crowley; John David Frederick, Courtney Marie Leblanc, Dylan John LeBlanc and Noah Gregory Touchet of Our Lady of the Lake Catholic Church in Delcambre; Henry Broussard, Dylan Eric George, Eliza Nezey and Maybelline Trahan of St. Martin de Porres Catholic Church in Delcambre; Cecile R. Hamilton and Mary R. Rideaux of St. Benedict the Moor Catholic Church in Duson;

Also, Linda Lockett, Eric and Cynthia J. Metz, Velda Metz and Elnora Sonnier of St. Peter the Apostle Catholic Church in Four Corners; Elodia V. Navy of St. Jules Catholic Church in Frankin; Frances Richard of St. Charles Borromeo Catholic Church in Grand Coteau; Jacqueline Francis of Our Lady of the Rosary Catholic Church in Jeanerette; Tina Chargois of Holy Rosary/St. Francis Cabrini Catholic Church in Kaplan; John Brady LeBlanc of Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist in Lafayette; Jules Edwards of Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church in Lafayette; Novella Dugas, Thomas Helaire, Mabel Malveaux and Warren Senegal of Our Lady Queen of Peace Catholic Church in Lafayette; Brenda Dejean, Terry and Carolyn Dugas, Brandy Jolivette and Raimy Living of St. Anthony Catholic Church in Lafayette; Rena Arceneaux and Albertine Locklear of St. Jules Catholic Church in Lafayette; John Pete and Joseph Provost of St. Paul the Apostle Catholic Church in Lafayette; Anna Belle Guidry of Holy Family Catholic Church in Lawtell; Marquis Simon of Immaculate Conception Catholic Church in Lebeau; Elvina Ward of St. Catherine Catholic Church in Leonville; Rev. Kenneth Domingue of St. Leo the Great Catholic Church in Leonville; and Clara Anthony, Jimmie George, Martha Jones and Andrea Willis of Our Lady of Victory Catholic Church in Loreauville.

Also, Bonnie Delahoussaye of St. Nicholas Catholic Church in Lydia; Bertina Papillion of St. Ann Catholic Church in Mallet; Risley Mouton of St. Joseph Catholic Church in Maurice; Grace Credeur and Lou Theriot of St. Joseph Catholic Church in Milton; Peter Williams of Nativity of Our Lady Catholic Church in New Iberia; Bruce Freese of Our Lady of Perpetual Help Catholic Church in New Iberia; Richard Guidry of Sacred Heart of Jesus Catholic Church in New Iberia; Anna Mae Mouton of St. Edward Catholic Church in New Iberia; Farice Daigle and Mary L. Daigle of Holy Ghost Catholic Church in Opelousas; Joseph Thomas of St. Jules Mission Catholic Church in Prairie Laurent; Shirley Rene of St. Mary Catholic Church in Port Barre; Menda Batiste, Winfield Ledet, Victor Mallery and Melba Malveaux of Notre Dame Catholic Church in St. Martinville; Kierra Moneé Cole of St. Martin de Porres Catholic Church in Scott; Joseph Keller of Immaculate Conception Catholic Church in Verdunville; Barbara R. Durand and Patricia A. Trent of Holy Trinity Catholic Church in Washington; Mary Ellen Baggett, Tina De Leon and Barbara Journet of St. Anne Catholic Church in Youngsville; Dora F. Broussard of Knights of Peter Claver Ladies Auxiliary, Little Theresa Court No. 11; and Mabel Denise Taylor and Deacon Anthony and Mary Francis Ozene of Office of Black Catholic Ministries.