Incumbent mayors in Broussard, Carencro and Scott and a new mayor in Youngsville have coasted into office without opposition after no one signed up to run against them by the Friday afternoon deadline to qualify as a candidate for the Nov. 4 election.

In Carencro, the entire leadership of the city was re-elected by default — Mayor Glenn Brasseaux, Police Chief Carlos Stout and the five-member City Council.

“I’m really humbled, and we work hard every day to do the right thing,” said Brasseaux, who has served for 12 years as mayor and for 24 years on the City Council before that. “We all want a nice quality of life, and I think that citizens realize that we have put together a good team.”

Longtime Broussard Mayor Charles Langlinais won election to his seventh term without opposition.

“Doesn’t surprise me, but I was hoping to have my entire council unopposed,” he said.

One member of the city’s seven-member council faces a challenger.

Langlinais won his first mayoral election in 1990.

“Seems like yesterday,” he quipped.

Scott Mayor Purvis Morrison, who beat out two challengers in 2010 to win his first term in office, walked in to his second term uncontested.

“It is a big opportunity, and I really do appreciate it,” Morrison said.

Youngsville has a new mayor by default, but all five seats on the Youngsville City Council are contested.

Ken Ritter, who is serving his first term on the council, will replace three-term Youngsville Mayor Wilson Viator Jr., who decided not to run for re-election and will step down when his term expires at the end of the year.

Ritter could not be reached for comment Friday afternoon.

The only contested mayoral race in Lafayette Parish on Nov. 4 will be in Duson, where incumbent Mayor Johnny Thibodeaux faces challengers Shane Blasingame and Carolyn “Susie” Lagneaux.

In the race for the Duson Board of Aldermen, 13 candidates are running for the five at-large seats.