At least three incumbent School Board members and eight newcomers had qualified to have their names placed on the ballot for the Nov. 4 election as of the close of the first day of qualifying Wednesday.

District 1 is guaranteed a new representative as the incumbent for that area, Mark Allen Babineaux, D-Scott, qualified for a district judge race Wednesday. Michelle Meaux Breaux, D-Scott, is also running in a judgeship race.

As of Wednesday, District 1 had one qualifying candidate, Mary Morrison, D-Scott.

Incumbents who qualified for the election Wednesday were: Mark Cockerham, R-Lafayette, of District 7; Kermit Bouillion, R-Duson, of District 5; and Tommy Angelle, D-Carencro, of District 2.

Other candidates who qualified Wednesday:

District 2: Simon Mahan, No Party, Lafayette

District 3: Elroy Broussard, D-Lafayette

District 5: Britt Latiolais, R-Lafayette

District 6: Justin Centanni, R-Lafayette

District 7: Dawn Morris, R-Lafayette

District 9: Jeremy Hidalgo, R-Youngsville, and Brian West, R-Lafayette.

Those elected to the School Board will begin a five-year — rather than a traditional, four-year — term in January due to legislation approved this summer that puts future school board elections in sync with the gubernatorial race effective in 2019.