A pair of Acadiana-area football players earned first-team honors on the Louisiana Sportswriters Association Class 3A all-state team.

Notre Dame’s Nate Link (40 tackles, 21 assists, 20 tackles for loss, 11 sacks) and Church Point’s Logan Lavergne (109 tackles, three tackles for loss, two forced fumbles) were selected on defense.

Link made the team as a defensive lineman, while Lavergne was a linebacker.

Amite’s Brad Porter (72 tackles, 28 tackles for loss, 23 sacks) and Jennings’ Brett Fontenot (136 tackles, two interceptions) were also on the defensive line.

Bo Wallace of John Curtis spent his season disrupting offenses and led the Patriots to a state runner-up finish.

Nick Brossette tormented opposing defenses, setting state and national marks while helping University High win its first football state title since 1988.

The two dominant players and their teams wound up in different LHSAA playoff divisions but share top honors on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 3A all-state team.

Brossette was voted the Outstanding Offensive Player for the second straight season, while Wallace garnered Outstanding Defensive Player honors.

Coach of the Year honors for the 3A squad went to University coach Chad Mahaffey.

Wallace helped the Patriots to a Division I select runner-up finish with 77 tackles, 16 tackles for loss, 11 quarterback hurries, nine sacks, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

Brossette led U-High to the Division II state title by rushing for 1,833 yards on 220 carries and scoring 31 total touchdowns. He ranks sixth nationally in rushing touchdowns with a four-year total of 137. While running for a Division/3A record 272 yards in the Division II final, Brossette set a state mark for career rushing with a five-year total of 8,704 yards and 163 total TDs.

Mahaffey’s U-High team finished 13-0, adding a Division II title to its Division II runner-up finish in 2013. Mahaffey’s last two UHS team have a combined record of 26-1. Livonia High’s Guy Mistretta also was considered for the coaching honor.

Wallace was one of four Curtis players on the LSWA squad. University and 3A champion Livonia each placed three players on the team.

Teammates joining Wallace on the 3A team were offensive lineman Willie Allen, linebacker Mikey Corcoran (68 tackles, 11 quarterback hurries, eight tackles for loss, four sacks) and defensive back Hunter Dale (53 tackles, eight pass break-ups, three interceptions, three forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries).

Brossette is joined by receiver Tre’ Jackson (45 catches, 876 yards, nine TDs) and linebacker Dylan Moses (99 tackles, 12 tackles for loss, two forced fumbles, two blocked punts).

Running Malcolm Dedrick (302 carries, 2,157 yards, 31 rushing TDs), defensive lineman Willie Baker (77 tackles, 31 assists, 29 tackles for loss, 12 sacks) and athlete Cee Jay Powell (1,550 yards passing, 21 TDs; 1,164 yards rushing, 13 TDs) represent Livonia.

Rayville’s Jamarion “Papa” Jackson (42 catches, 966 yards, 13 TDs) and Patterson’s Daylon Charlot (30 passes, 711 yards, 14 TDs) are the other receivers on the squad, while Union Parish’s Tyler Holloway, South Beauregard’s Curtis Cox, Evangel Christian’s Jerry Tillery and Parkview Baptist’s Trent Harrington complete the offensive line.

Rayville’s Kahmod Naylor (133 of 220, 2,565 yards, 27 TDs) made the squad at quarterback. North Webster’s Devin White (270-2,287 yards, 30 TDs) was the other running back.

Amite’s Joshua Perry (72 tackles, six interceptions, two returns for TDs) and West Feliciana’s Ryan Reed (127 tackles, four interceptions, three fumble recoveries) complete the defensive backfield.

The specialists chosen were punter Chase Spatafora of Union Parish (38.9 average, 7 of 20 downed inside opponent’s 20), kicker Thomas O’Dowd of St. Louis (8 of 11 field goals, long of 54) and return specialist Shea Holland of South Beauregard (19.2 yards per return, TD).