Cecilia’s Raymond Calais leads the way on LSWA’s Class 4A all-state team _lowres

Advocate staff photo by BRAD BOWIE -- Cecilia's Raymond Calais

Raymond Calais’ Twitter handle — @king­­_calais — is especially appropriate today.

The Cecilia running back’s epic senior season earned one more honor Friday: Calais is the Offensive MVP on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A team, one of many players on the squad with Acadiana-area ties.

Calais ran for 2,602 yards and 33 touchdowns as the Bulldogs roared to the No. 3 seed in the Class 4A playoffs, falling to No. 14 seed Karr (the eventual state runner-up) in the second round.

State champion Neville has plenty of representation, led by defensive tackle Rashard Lawrence, the Defensive MVP. The Under Armour All-American led the Tigers in tackles and tackles for a loss. A pair of Neville offensive linemen, Blaze Van Buren and John Kade Lawrence, and kick returner Corey Straughter were also honored with all-state nods.

Minden’s Spencer Heard was named 4A Coach of the Year after taking over a Crimson Tide program that went 1-9 three years ago and leading it to the second round of the playoffs this season. Minden’s 9-3 2015 season included a win over 3A No. 1 North Webster and just one district loss.

Calais is joined at running back by a pair of juniors — Washington-Marion’s Jacobi Taylor and Livonia’s Patrick Queen — who ran for more than 1,800 yards. Taylor ran for 15 touchdowns, and Queen ran for 24.

Calais’ teammate Kenya Dartez is one of a trio of senior receivers on the team, alongside Trevor Begue of St. Thomas More and Jacq’co Price of Crowley. Plaquemine multi-purpose threat Wayne Toussaint was named the athlete after running for 804 yards and 10 touchdowns, catching 33 passes for 617 yards and eight touchdowns, returning kickoffs for 477 yards and two touchdowns and posting 14 pass breakups and six interceptions as a defensive back.

On the offensive line, Teurlings Catholic’s Ashton Whaley, and North DeSoto’s Will Champion and Lionell Scott of Loranger join the Neville duo.

Karr’s Aldon Clark earned the quarterback spot after leading the Cougars to the 4A state championship game.

DeRidder defensive lineman Daniel Crosley made the team for the third time after posting strong numbers as a starting running back and defensive linemen, amassing seven sacks and 15 tackles for loss despite being asked to play so much offense.

Livonia’s Willie Baker made the 4A team a year after making the 3A team thanks to totals of 16 tackles for losses, 21 quarterback hurries and 11.5 sacks.

Crosley and Baker are joined on the defensive line by Neville’s Rashard Lawrence and Northside’s Tyler Shelvin.

Daniel Crosley’s twin brother, David, made the all-state team as a linebacker, along with Michael Leday of LaGrange, Justin Gaskin of North DeSoto and Ethan Broussard of St. Thomas More. All four led their teams in tackles: Leday with 128, Gaskin with 117 Broussard with 115 and Crosley with 109.

The LaGrange defense also claims defensive back Alvinoski LaFleur, a two-time all-state safety who tallied seven interceptions and 104 tackles. Rounding out the secondary are Loranger’s Evan Johnson, a two-way starter with 10 pass breakups and over 1,000 rushing yards; Cecilia’s Keldrick Zeno; and Plaquemine’s Todd Harris, who had 84 tackles and 22 pass breakups.

LSWA Class 4A all-state team


Pos Player School Ht. Wt. Cl.

WR Trevor Begue St. Thomas More 5-8 180 Sr.

WR Kenya Dartez Cecilia 6-2 185 Sr.

WR Jacq’co Price Crowley 6-2 165 Sr.

OL John Kade Lawrence Neville 6-0 210 Sr.

OL Ashton Whaley Teurlings Catholic 6-1 275 Sr.

OL Blaze Van Buren Neville 6-1 255 Sr.

OL Will Champion North DeSoto 6-3 305 Sr.

OL Lionell Scott Loranger 6-2 300 Sr.

QB Aldon Clark Karr 6-1 185 Jr.

RB Jacobi Taylor Washington-Marion 5-8 190 Jr.

RB Raymond Calais Cecilia 5-9 172 Sr.

RB Patrick Queen Livonia 6-1 210 Jr.

PK Bailey Raborn St. Thomas More 6-0 190 Sr.

ATH Wayne Toussant Plaquemine 5-11 170 So.


Pos Player School Ht. Wt. Cl.

DL Daniel Crosley DeRidder 6-3 240 Sr.

DL Tyler Shelvin Northside 6-3 300 Jr.

DL Rashard Lawrence Neville 6-3 295 Sr.

DL Willie Baker Livonia 6-4 235 Sr.

LB Michael Leday LaGrange 5-11 200 Sr.

LB Justin Gaskin North DeSoto 5-11 212 Sr.

LB Ethan Broussard St. Thomas More 5-10 220 Sr.

LB David Crosley DeRidder 6-2 225 Sr.

DB Todd Harris Plaquemine 6-2 184 Jr.

DB Alvinoski LaFleur LaGrange 6-0 190 Sr.

DB Evan Johnson Loranger 5-8 170 Sr.

DB Keldrick Zeno Cecilia 5-11 185 Sr.

P Bailey Raborn St. Thomas More 6-0 190 Sr.

KR Corey Straughter Neville 5-11 160 Jr.

Offensive MVP: Raymond Calais, Cecilia

Defensive MVP: Rashard Lawrence, Neville

Coach of the Year: Spencer Heard, Minden

Honorable mention

Isaiah Graham, Bastrop; L’Jarius Sneed, Minden; Marquez Stevenson, Northwood; Garrett Hable, Benton; Paul DeRogers, Livonia; Cole Kelley, Teurlings Catholic; Pate Broussard, Crowley; Jaiden Cole, Neville; Jerry Powell, Bastrop; Tyreik Campbell, Carencro; Rashaad Harding, Carencro; Jacobi Taylor, Washington-Marion; Donald Jenkins, Neville; Davonte Green, Loranger; Trivenskey Mosley, Woodlawn-Shreveport; Troy Domino, Woodlawn-BR; Aaron Monrose, St. Thomas More; Darius Gordon, Cecilia; Zikkerrion Baker, Minden; Alec Robertson, Teurlings Catholic; Ed Yokum, Crowley; Will Bellamy, St. Thomas More; Sci Martin, McDonogh 35; Austin Gray, Carencro; Ty’Von Griffin, Crowley; Cee Jay Powell, Livonia; Cory McCoy, Leesville; Markell Hawthorne, LaGrange; Tolliver Tripeaux, Livonia; Charven Morris, Warren Easton; Javin Myers, Woodlawn-BR; Christion Edwards, Livonia; Clyde Criss, Warren Easton; Azende Magee, Franklinton; Andre Anthony, Karr; Stephon Taylor, McDonogh 35