The ballot includes a slew of races: U.S. president, Congress, Public Service Commission, state justices, judges, district attorneys, mayors, police chiefs and city councils.

There are a number of dates for voters to keep in mind:

The deadline to register to vote by mail or in person is Oct. 5.

The deadline to register online through is Oct. 13.

The deadline to request an absentee ballot by mail ballot is Oct. 30. The local Registrar of Voters must receive the completed ballot no later than Nov. 2.

Early voting begins Oct. 20 and ends Oct. 27, excluding Sunday, Oct. 25.

More information on voting and the full list of qualifiers are available at the Secretary of State's web site at

The list below are the candidates for some of the races in Ascension Parish.

D = Democrat

R = Republican

G = Green

I = Independent

L = Libertarian

N = No party

O = Other party

(e) = Elected without opposition

District Attorney


(Ascension, Assumption and St. James)

Ricky Babin, R-Gonzales, (e)

District Judge 23rd Judicial District Court, ES 1, Div. E

Alvin Turner Jr., D (e)

District Judge 23rd Judicial District Court, ES 2, Div. A

Jason Verdigets, R (e)

District Judge 23rd Judicial District Court, ES 2, Div. B

Aaron Chaisson Jr., R

Cody M. Martin, Republican

District Judge 23rd Judicial District Court, ES 2, Div. C

"Tess" Percy Stromberg, R (e)

District Judge 23rd Judicial District Court, ES 2, Div. D

Christopher J. Bridges, R

Steven Tureau, R

Parish Races


Donaldsonville Mayor

Travis London, N

Glenn Price, D

Leroy Sullivan, D

Gonzales Mayor

Barney D. Arceneaux, D, (e)

Gonzales Chief of Police

Sherman Jackson, D, (e)

Justice of the Peace 1st Justice Court

Dwayne Bailey, D

Andrew Falcon, D

Tamiko Francis Garrison, D

Charles Sanders, D

Justice of the Peace 2nd Justice Court

James Landry, R

Christie Mayeux, R

Justice of the Peace 3rd Justice Court

John C. Hebert, I

Lynelle Johnson, R

Constable 1st Justice Court

Robert Gibson, N

Jeffery Henry Sr., D

Andrew "Banana" LeBlanc III, D

Murray Henry Walker, D

Constable 2nd Justice Court

Thomas Mayeux, R

Danny Thibodeaux, R

Constable 3rd Justice Court

James E. LeBlanc, Republican (e)

Council Member District 1, City of Donaldsonville

Lauthaught Delaney Sr., D

Russell Gray, D

Council Member District 2, City of Donaldsonville

Raymond Aucoin, D

David Hambrick, R

Kurt Mitchell, N

Jessica Wade Washington, D

Council Member District 3, City of Donaldsonville

Shentelle "Lou" Daigle, D

Reginald Francis Sr., D

Council Member District 4, City of Donaldsonville

Charles Brown, D

Trevis Fernandez, D

David Joseph Jr., D

Council Member District 5, City of Donaldsonville

W.C. "Bill" Dawson, R

Thomas "Moose" Pearce, I

Michael Sullivan Sr., D

Council Member Division A, City of Gonzales

David J. Guitreau, D

Timothy "Tim" Riley, D

Council Member Division B, City of Gonzales

Kirk Boudreaux, D (e)

Council Member Division C, City of Gonzales

Terri Lynn Lambert, R

Willie Robinson, D

Harold Stewart, D

Council Member Division D, City of Gonzales

Tyler Turner, D

Council Member Division E, City of Gonzales

John A. "Johnny" Berthelot, I

Terance L. Irvin, D