The Mary Bird Perkins/LSU Medical Physics Program’s accreditation has been renewed for five years.

The program is one of 35 in the United States accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Education Programs Inc.

The program, the only nationally accredited medical physics program in Louisiana, is now also one of only 27 nationwide to offer a Ph.D.

“It would have been an impossible feat without the sustained hard work and high performance of the entire medical physics team,” Wayne D. Newhauser, Ph.D., director and Dr. Charles M. Smith Chair of Medical Physics, said in a news release.

Newhauser succeeded Kenneth R. Hogstrom who retired in 2011 after leading the program for seven years.