An art conservator, an author, a developer and a group of LSU students are among the groups and individuals from around the state who will be recognized when the Foundation for Historical Louisiana holds its 35th annual FHL Preservation Awards dinner July 12.

Chosen by the FHL Board of Directors and staff, the recipients come from throughout the state and are named for their unique efforts to preserve Louisiana’s architecture, culture and history.

Selected as this year’s honorees are:

?Elise Grenier, a fine art and building conservator and preservation advocate who is an internationally renowned artist from Baton Rouge.

?Leo Honeycutt, author, historical researcher and public speaker from Baton Rouge.

?Brad Vogel, young preservationist working in his adopted city of New Orleans for the National Trust on Historic Preservation to save historic buildings in the Mid-City Historic District and Charity Hospital.

?The Bricks & Mortar Award will go to the Leach family — Claude “Buddy” and Laura Leach and daughter Mary O’Dell Leach Werner, daughter Lucille “Lucy” Anne Leach Davenport and son Claude Alexander Leach — of Lake Charles, and The North American Land Co., of Lake Charles, for the restoration of the historic King Hotel in Baton Rouge, now the Indigo Hotel. The building, which was vacant for many years, is now a chic addition to downtown Baton Rouge. Both federal and state tax credits were used for the restoration.

?The Phoenix Award will be presented to the Friends of St. Paul Church of Bayou Goula, a nonprofit preservation organization formed to save the historic 1880s church after Hurricane Gustav. The group is now raising funds for a new steeple.

?The FHL Volunteer of the Year Award will be given to Jane Davidson for her service at FHL headquarters with the Museum Shops this past year.

?A Special Award will be presented to the Inherit Baton Rouge team, nine LSU seniors who were part of the LSU Mass Communication Public Relations Capstone class that created the program. The seniors are Angela Campiere, Amanda Eisman, Emmy Gill, Megan Johnson, Zac Lemoine, Silvia Medrano, Lindsay Rabalais, Victoria Schmidt and Savannah Urban. The program is designed to interest young people in the importance of preservation and sustainability and to educate them about the efforts of the Foundation for Historical Louisiana.

In addition to event underwriter, Stone Pigman Walther Wittmann, supporters of the event are Kathy Sherbourne, of Acadian Frame & Art; and artist David Norwood.

Michele Deshotels chaired the Preservation Awards Committee, and FHL board chairman Douglas Cochran will serve as emcee for the event.

The Foundation has presented these awards since 1976 and the full roster of awardees is on the organization’s website,