Communications, IT staffs earn ACE awards

Nine faculty and staff from the LSU AgCenter Communications and Information Technology departments received awards at the 2014 International Association for Communication Excellence annual conference in June in Portland, Oregon.

Awards went to four communications faculty: Frankie Gould, director, ACE Professional Award; Tobie Blanchard, associate specialist, bronze award for a video news release; Linda Benedict, associate director, Service Award for 40 years of membership; and John Wozniak, assistant director, Service Award for 25 years of membership.

Information technology staff received two awards. A silver award for Best Innovative Use of Communication Technology went to Fred Piazza, director; Sandy Fiser, associate director; Megan Smith, Web designer; Sam Razi, IT manager; and Callen Cranfield, IT analyst. Fiser and Smith also won a silver award for interactive multimedia and Web graphics.

BR student graduates from Wisconsin university

Dominique Dwayne Ricks, of Baton Rouge, received a bachelor of arts in sociology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison on May 1.

Port Allen teacher wins classroom makeover

Recent LSU graduate Chelsea Mayer has won a $500 classroom makeover from Pelican State Credit Union.

The credit union invited all Louisiana teachers to visit Pelican’s Facebook page and upload a photo of their classroom for entry into the $500 giveaway. Once entered, they could share the picture with their friends and family to get votes. Mayer won with 330 unique votes.

The new teacher is starting her career as Port Allen Middle School’s sixth grade math teacher.

“I’m a new teacher so I’m starting from scratch,” Mayer said. She said she plans to buy math manipulatives and other teaching resources with her $500 gift card to School Aids.

Louisiana team wins shotgun championship

Four Louisiana youths combined to win the 4-H Shooting Sports Invitational Overall Shotgun National Championship June 18-20 in Grand Island, Nebraska. This is the first time a Louisiana team has won this championship.

Team members were Austin Hebert, 18, of Milton; Ian Duplantis, 17, of Houma; Colton Chandler, 16, of Dry Prong; and Dylan Whitstine, 15, of Colfax. Duplantis won first place individually in sporting clays, and Whitstine won first place in trap and second place overall.

Follow this link to the photos.

Compiled by Advocate staff writer George Morris. The “Community” column runs every Tuesday and Friday in The Advocate. Items should be submitted to “Community,” Advocate eatplaylive section, P.O. Box 588, Baton Rouge, LA 70821, or emailed to Events should be submitted in a timely fashion. By submitting photos to The Advocate, you agree that they can be published in any of The Advocate’s print or digital publications.