Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church has awarded its 2011 Shiloh Baptist Church Foundation/Walter Dumas Scholarship to two local high school graduates who advocate racial harmony through love and being a human bridge between cultures.

Recipients of a $5,000 scholarship are:

* Andrew Hane, McKinley High School graduate, son of Keitt and Elise Hane.

* David Holmes, Baton Rouge Magnet High School graduate, son of Herman and Carolyn Holmes.

Recipients must be involved in a church or synagogue, be active in school, have a minimum 3.0 grade-point average and do his or her part in promoting brotherhood between races.

Local competes in Ala.

Alexandra Gulino, of Prairieville, is in Mobile, Ala., this week competing for a share of $142,000 in cash scholarships and the opportunity to become the 2011 Distinguished Young Woman of America.

While there, the recent Park-view Baptist School graduate volunteered with Habitat for Humanity as part of the Be Your Best Self Day sponsored by the Junior League of Mobile.

Gulino arrived in Mobile June 12 for two weeks of events, activities and rehearsals leading up to the 54th National Finals which conclude Saturday at the Mobile Civic Center Theater.

Scout attains Eagle rank

Boy Scout Troop 169, chartered by Trinity Lutheran Church, recently announced that one of its Scouts has achieved the rank of Eagle, Scouting’s highest honor.

Only about 5 percent of all Boy Scouts earn the Eagle rank.

To earn it, a Scout must progress through six ranks, serve in a leadership position within his troop, provide service to his community and earn a minimum of 21 merit badges, of which 12 - in such areas as finance, family, citizenship and personal fitness - are required.

A Scout must also plan, develop and give leadership to a service project for any religious organization or any school or community.

Kevin Murphy

AGE: 18

SCHOOL: Central High School

TROOP: Troop 169, Trinity Lu-theran Church

SCOUTMASTER: Buddy Amor-oso

EAGLE PROJECT: Rebuilt two playground areas and repaired a roof on playground equipment at Trinity Lutheran School.

EXTRA: Murphy began Scouting at the age of 12, earning 22 merit badges and was voted by his peers into the Order of the Arrow in 2009, Scouting’s National Honor Society which recognizes Scouts who best exemplify the Scout oath and law in daily life.

PARENTS: Michael and Kitty Murphy

Shiloh Scholars announced

Seven high school students and one college undergraduate student were awarded more than $39,000 in scholarships as recipients of the 2011 Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church Scholarships.

The recipients and their awards are:

* Margaret Davis, awarded the $8,000 super scholarship, is a 2011 graduate of Scotlandville Magnet High School. Davis is the daughter of Carish Davis and Ida Davis-Holmes.

* Sierra Nelson, awarded the $5,050 first-place scholarship, is a senior undergraduate student at Southeastern Louisiana University and a 2007 graduate of Glen Oaks High School. She is the daughter of the late Charlie and Sharlotte Price Nelson.

* Brandi Barze, a 2011 graduate of McKinley Senior High School and the daughter of Randy and Vanessa Barze, was awarded the $4,900 second-place scholarship.

* Julia Rose Gaines, awarded the $4,700 third-place scholarship, is a 2011 graduate of St. Michael the Archangel High School. Gaines is the daughter of Oze and Lintean Gaines.

* Gregory Vincent, the son of Leslie Vincent, of Baton Rouge, and Greg Vincent, of Austin, Texas, and a 2011 graduate of Baton Rouge Magnet High School, was awarded the $4,500 fourth-place scholarship.

* Cymberly Dickerson is the recipient of the $4,300 fifth-place scholarship. Dickerson, a 2011 graduate of St. Joseph’s Academy, is the daughter of Arthur Dickerson III and Barbara Dickerson.

* Kerwyn Franklin, a 2011 graduate of McKinley Senior High School, was awarded the $4,100 sixth-place scholarship. Franklin is the son of Larry and Marietta Franklin.

* Denzel Lewis, awarded the $3,900 seventh-place scholarship, is a 2011 graduate of Scotlandville Magnet High School. Lewis is the son of Wilbert and Sherita Lewis.

Submit youth news to or fax (225) 388-0351.