Slim Harpo Music Awards announces 2016 honorees _lowres

Photo provided by High ISO Music -- Lil Buck Sinegal performs live in this undated photo. Sinegal died June 10 at the age of 75.

A trio of talented musicians will be honored during the 2016 Slim Harpo Music Awards.

This year’s honorees are Lil’ Buck Sinegal (legend), Paula Rangell (pioneer) and Scott Billington (ambassador).

The musicians will be honored at a reception at the Varsity Theatre in Baton Rouge on June 23. The event begins at 7:30 p.m. and will include a musical jam featuring the honorees and other musicians such as Luther Kent, CC Adcock, Henry Turner Jr., Henry Gray and many others. Tickets are $25 at the door and online.

Proceeds from the reception will benefit the Music in the Schools outreach program.

The awards are named after Slim Harpo, the internationally acclaimed Baton Rouge artist who influenced worldwide talents such as The Kinks, the Rolling Stones and Van Morrison, to name a few.

Sinegal is best known for his zydeco style and guitar-driven songs. He has performed and recorded with Allen Toussaint, Clifton Chenier and Paul Simon. Sinegal was inducted into the Louisiana Blues Hall of Fame in 1999.

Rangell has fronted the New Orleans-based blues band Paula & the Pontiacs since 1978. The vocalist, saxophonist and harmonica player has performed with artists such as Mel Brown, Stevie Ray Vaughan and Marcia Ball.

Billington is best known for his work as a producer, songwriter and blues musician. He has recorded with acts such as the Dirty Dozen Brass Band, Soul Rebels Brass Band and Irma Thomas. His records have won two Grammy awards and received 11 Grammy nominations.

For information on the awards and reception, visit

Follow Matthew Sigur on Twitter, @MatthewSigur.