Ty’Quieria Lodge, the reigning debutante cotillion queen of the Mu Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho sorority and outgoing president of its Rhoer Club, received both the Rhoer Club and Debutante scholarships at Mu Sigma's annual Scholarship & Academic Honors program June 11. The Southern University Laboratory School also received a certificate and academic honor medallion from Rhoer advisor Tonya Lands for achieving honor roll status for the 2015-2016 school year.

Rhoer Ashley C. Duncan, a graduate of Cabrini High School in New Orleans, received Mu Sigma's Community Scholarship while Dimond DeCuir, a Port Allen High School graduate, and Kenya Ridley, a Glen Oaks High School graduate, each received Book Awards for their scholastic achievements.

Lands also presented certificates and medallions to Rhoers Larissa Alexander, Airicka Gibbs, Courtney Harris, Dejiona Jackson, Natyra James, Logan Lewis, Jasmine Martin, Mia Robertson and Mya Vick. Rhoer Markeisha Hives was honored for winning the sorority’s Southwestern Region Mwanamugimu essay contest on the high school level. Jackson, Lodge and Martin were also honored for the their recent high school graduations. The Rhoer affiliate is the sorority’s youth group for young girls ages 12-18.

Undergraduate sorority members Ashley Matthews, of Southern University's Beta Alpha Chapter; Laureanna Crump, of LSU's Gamma Pi Chapter; and Tamara Alexander, of Southeastern Louisiana University's Pi Iota Chapter, were awarded undergraduate scholarships for having the highest grade point averages in their respective chapters. Alexander, the Southwestern Region’s reigning Miss Annie Neville Talent Show winner, was presented with a trophy congratulating her on her win and wishing her luck as she represents the region at the sorority's 56th Biennial Boulé in Cleveland later this month. Fellow Pi Iota member Britney Bell was presented with a Crystal Award to commemorate her recent election as the Southwestern Region’s Youth Services Coordinator, the region’s highest-ranking undergraduate leadership position. Gamma Pi Chapter members DeVonta Guidry and Ashley Pikes, and Pi Iota Chapter members Nicala Edwards, Samantha Griffen, Mariah Lucineo, Shakemia Miller, Erica Thomas and Russia Williams were also honored for their recent college graduations.

Porscha Gailes and Clara Williams served as co-chairwomen for the program. Assisting them were committee members Heather Cooper, Chareese Haile, Lyn Hakeem, Roshonda Hanible, Sylvia Smith JáNae Womack and President Brenda Hives Smith.

Follow Pam Bordelon on Twitter, @pamspartyline.