It was all about the nurses and those who teach them when the Baton Rouge District Nurses Association held it 27th annual Celebrate Nursing Banquet May 2 at Boudreaux’s.

LaTonya S. Dorsey, an instructor at Our Lady of the Lake College, received two awards — the Helen Johnson Cremeens Excellence in Teaching Award, which is given to an educator who has demonstrated excellence in teaching and development of new nurses for the profession, and the Edith Loboe Scholarship, which is awarded to BRDNA-member nurses who are pursuing an advanced degree in nursing. M ary Dudley with the National Hansen’s Disease Programs also received the Edith Loboe Scholarship.

Additionally, 24 registered nurses were honored. They are Lisa Bayhi — AIM Palliative Care; Gregory Altazan, Maya Ki Briscoe and Jennifer Lejeune — Baton Rouge General Medical Center; Jason Gwyn — Lane Regional Medical Center; Mandy Lea Broussard, Lindsay Bratton Mullin s, Dusty Cole Pourciau, Nicole Scott and Francine C. Thomas — OLOL College; Lacie Aldridge, Laura Brown, Tyrus Ray Cobb, Cristy Gremillion, Laura Gomez, Gena Kalil and Elizabeth LeCoq — Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center; Barbara Anthony — SBAFA Inc. Legal Nurse Consulting Business; and Je na Aucoin, Elizabeth Choates, Jessica Morris, Jill Newell and Jacey Norris — Woman’s Hospital; and Vinnie Marcell — Southern University School of Nursing.

Follow Pam on Twitter @pamspartyline. Items for Pam’s Party Line must be received by 9 a.m. the Monday preceding the run date. High-resolution digital photos should be emailed to Hard copy photos should be dropped off at or mailed to The Advocate, 10705 Reiger Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. Events will run no later than four weeks after they have taken place. The date, place of the event and a contact name and daytime phone number must be included. Photos will be used at the discretion of The Advocate.