Monday, July 16, 2018
Sunday, July 15, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Monday, July 09, 2018
Sunday, July 08, 2018
Friday, July 06, 2018
Thursday, July 05, 2018

Jim Wadsworth, of Metairie, adds this note to our recent story of how Huey Long, as governor, caused a highway to bypass Melville because he didn't like the way some folks there treated him when he was a candidate:

Wednesday, July 04, 2018
Tuesday, July 03, 2018
Monday, July 02, 2018
Sunday, July 01, 2018
Friday, June 29, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Tuesday, June 26, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Sunday, June 24, 2018
Friday, June 22, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Sunday, June 17, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Sunday, June 10, 2018

My Thursday diatribe about giving up on Louisiana as a functioning state brought a reaction from New Orleanian Dr. Lokis Calhoun, who said my idea of making New Orleans a city-state like Vatican City is "commendable but, I fear, short-sighted.

Friday, June 08, 2018
Thursday, June 07, 2018
Wednesday, June 06, 2018
Tuesday, June 05, 2018
Monday, June 04, 2018

Tony Falterman reminds me that I once attended a pig roast at Bill Dodd's camp in the woods outside Clinton, hosted by Bill's son Bruce. Bill was a colorful politician who held many offices in state government and had a checkered relationship with…

Sunday, June 03, 2018
Friday, June 01, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Sunday, May 27, 2018
Friday, May 25, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Frank Ransburg, longtime political science professor at Southern University, recalls the bygone days when we used to laugh WITH politicians instead of AT them. He presents this story to mark Gov. John McKeithen's 100th birthday Monday, May 28:

Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018