Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts students who participate in the Future Scientist Program were recognized during the 10th annual banquet on April 23 at the National Center for Preservation Technology and Training in Natchitoches.

Senior Elisabeth Davis, of Baton Rouge, completed FSP and will receive an Excellence in Science award at the senior recognition ceremony, according to a news release. It is the highest honor a department can bestow on an LSMSA student. She will receive a medal to wear at graduation, the release said.

Requirements for the award include being an ambassador for science and the LSMSA Department of Science; completing an approved research project or performing 80 hours or more of community service; completing 12 hours of science courses above LSMSA requirements; maintaining an overall LSMSA 3.0 GPA and a science GPA of 3.25, with no grade lower than a C; actively participating in an approved science-related club; and competing in an approved science competition.

New FSP members include juniors Lewis Johnson and Genesis Lambert, both of Baton Rouge.

Research by FSP students included Davis, Katie Gonsoulin and Ethan Riggs, University of Louisiana at Monroe, “HHMI”; and Savannah Scott, of Baton Rouge, LSU, “Isolating Biologically Active Anti-Cancer Compounds.”