LawBadges.adv 26.jpg

Baton Rouge Police Dept. officer's badge with black and blue band, in remembrance of the East Baton Rouge Parish Sheriff's Office deputy and two BRPD officers who lost their lives Sunday in the fatal shooting ambush. Photographed Wednesday, July 20, 2016.

A committee will meet for the first time at 6 p.m. on Thursday, Nov. 9, in City Hall to start narrowing down the best candidates vying to become Baton Rouge's next police chief.

Mayor-President Sharon Weston Broome received a list of eleven candidates last week who passed the Louisiana Municipal Fire and Police Civil Service Board's exam for those interested in becoming chief. She then announced that she was creating a committee to review the applications, interview the candidates and recommend five finalists before Broome makes the ultimate hire.

The committee's meetings will be open to the public, as advisory committees for the government fall under the state's open meetings laws.

All 11 candidates for the police chief position are from law enforcement agencies in Louisiana, with five coming from within the ranks of the Baton Rouge Police Department. Broome had spent months on the campaign trail and after her election promising to hold a national search for the next police chief.

Her administration recently acknowledged that a national search never happened, saying the requirement that applicants take the civil service exam would interfere with their ability to recruit national candidates.

The candidates that the committee will review are as follows: Shawn Caldwell, Myron Daniels, Sharon Douglas, Richard Harrell, Darryl Honoré, Jeremy Kent, Mark Kraus, Robert McGarner, Murphy Paul Jr., Ronald Stevens and Samuel Wyatt.

Committee members include Jan Bernard, Jennifer Carwile, former U.S. Attorney and former U.S. Rep. Don Cazayoux, Metro Councilman LaMont Cole, Pastor Errol Domingue, Pastor Tommie Gipson, former U.S. Attorney Walt Green, Cordell Haymon, Pat LeDuff, state Rep. Ted James, Ernest Johnson, Julie Baxter Payer, Melissa Thompson and Metro Councilwoman Tara Wicker.

Follow Andrea Gallo on Twitter, @aegallo.​