Five faculty/staff members at Southeastern Louisiana University have been cited with the President’s Award for Excellence.

The award is the university’s highest honor.

Receiving the awards were:

  • Jacqueline Guendouzi, Knights of Babylon endowed professor of communication sciences and disorders, excellence in research.

Guendouzi studies how people process language, applying her research to children, adults and people with brain injuries and dysfunctions.

  • David Wyld, C.E. Laborde professor of management, excellence in teaching.

Wyld was honored with his second’ President’s Award, and was recognized as an innovator in teaching and trying new approaches with students.

  • Alissa Mercurio Rowe, assistant professor and director of choral activities in the department of fine and performing arts, excellence in artistic activity.

Rowe is the conductor of the Southeastern Concert Choir and has performed as a soprano soloist nationally and internationally. A member of Southeastern’s music program since 2002, she currently serves as president of the Louisiana American Choral Directors Association.

  • Joseph Burns, professor of communication, excellence in faculty service.

Burns is the graduate coordinator for the Organizational Communication program and has been a faculty member since 1999.

  • Marcus McMillian, excellence in unclassified staff service.

McMillian is the student technology services coordinator in the Office of Technology and a 2003 graduate of Southeastern’s computer science program.