Beau Brummell celebrated 75 years of the club’s affinity for perfection in attire, culture, social correctness and the highest standards of Carnival ball affairs Friday, Jan. 30, in the Landmark Hotel Mardi Gras Ballroom.

Through this year’s theme, “Looking Forward Backwards,” the tone of the evening’s celebration was set when guests were reminded of the words of philosopher Soren Kierkegaard, “Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.” Guests were then asked to journey with the club as they remembered some of the finest moments of the organization’s storied history over the past seven decades.

Formally opening the evening’s affair, the ball captain, Mr. Wilson C. Boveland, presented the master of ceremonies, Dr. Reginald A. Parquet. With the orchestra playing the melody from “The Way We Were” in the background, “Beau” Parquet, as the members are noted, invited the guests to abandon all worry and care as he proceeded through the narration.

One of the highlights of the ball was the presentation of the 2014 queen, Miss Rahliat Cole Animashaun, who was escorted by the club’s vice president, Beau James K. Bonds. Her majesty had the honor of selecting her successor from this year’s coterie of debutantes, who when formally presented, placed capsules containing their names into a crystal urn near the royal platform.

Miss Kayler DeShan Holden, whom fortune smiled upon, was the young lady selected to wear the crown for 2015 when her name was drawn from the crystal urn by Queen Rahliat. The new queen is the daughter of Mr. Henry Holden III and Ms. Lisa Sanders,

Debutantes escorted into the ballroom by club members were Misses Ashley Marie Adams, daughter of Mr. Ernest Adams Jr. and Ms. Raquel Grayol; Tamia Rochon Coleman, daughter of Mr. Derrick Evans and Ms. Ebony Coleman; Queen Jonafá Michellé, daughter of Ms. Chris Martin; Gabrielle Monique Riley, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Michael J. Riley; and Victoria Marie Wiltz, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Mickel G. Wiltz.

Presenting the members and their ladies, Dr. Parquet first introduced Mr. Elwood T. Davis, who has been a member of the club since 1969. Each “Beau” was introduced in the chronological order of their membership in the club. Following Beau Davis were Messrs. Benny G. Harris, Bonds, Dr. Parquet, Boveland, Jeffery D. Jackson, Benjamin Stove Jr., Edward L. Wells Jr., Washington Wells, Dr. Press L. Robinson, Shedrick E. Sublett, Alfred J. Sanders, Warren Lyons Jr., Larry J. Carter, Ezickiel D. Nash, Warner A. Tureaud and John K. Etter.

The ball theme was developed by John E. Rousseau Jr. Theme committee composed of Messrs. Bonds, Boveland, Carter, Davis, Harris, Dr. Parquet and Warner D. Tureaud.

The 2015 queen was escorted around the ballroom floor by Beau Harris, club president, who then led the royal entourage from the ballroom. Following this, the club’s traditional waltz was performed by the members and their ladies before general dancing began.