Sacred Heart of Jesus School bid farewell to its eighth-grade Class of 2016 with a week of activities.

The annual Eighth Grade Family Supper was held at the Catholic Life Center on May 16, where students received nonacademic awards and watched a slideshow that detailed their final year at the school.

The following day, the eighth-graders and their parents took a “Final Walk” through the school campus, receiving farewells from faculty, staff and prekindergarten through seventh-grade students. The rest of the student body made signs and cards to wish the eighth-graders well, a news release said.

Former and retired teachers Eilish Bongiovanni, Judy Determann, Michelle Heine, Gloria Leggio, Elizabeth Robertson and Peggy Whatley were there to greet the eighth-graders during the final walk. Retired fourth-grade teacher Lisa Perry sent brownies for the students, who used to enjoy birthday brownies in her class.

The eighth-grade promotion Mass, celebrated by the Rev. Miles Walsh, was held May 18 at Sacred Heart of Jesus Church.

Faith Woods was recognized as the graduate with the highest scholastic average.

Awards and scholarships were presented to Ashley Stevens and Woods, Spirit of Sacred Heart Award; Emily Reynaud and Kelvin Givens, Charles S. Marabella ’64 Memorial Art Award; Carlette Dunn and Tyler Toussant, Ronny Demouy Memorial Award; Abby Wall, Coach Frank M. Bologna Memorial Scholarship; Abby Ligon, Evan Kennedy Mills Religion Award; Beau Brown, Sister Patricia Wolfe Love of Math Award; Caroline Dazzio, Sacred Heart Men’s Club Service Award; and Carlette Dunn, St. Michael the Archangel High School Scholarship.


PRINCIPAL’S HONOR ROLL (4.0): Amelia Cave, Dazzio, Ligon and Woods

GOLD HONOR ROLL (3.66 TO 3.99): Brown, Emily DeMeulenaere, Dunn, Elise Encalade, Caroline Feduccia, Maggie Hurdle and Stevens

BLUE HONOR ROLL (3.33 TO 3.5 ) : Kendall Ourso, Reynaud, Toussant and Wall

OTHER GRADUATES: Ben Bookman, Alex Colbert, Caroline Creech, Ty Grenfell, Seth Harden, Kylon Haynes, Martin Helouin, Mikiyah Parker, London Scott, Jane Singleton, Trey Spears and Jake Strupp.