Katie Guasco, director of communications for Visit Baton Rouge, the convention and visitors bureau, has earned certification as a Travel Marketing Professional from the Southeast Tourism Society Marketing College. Certification is based on completion of a three-year program.

Corey Luckett, a financial planner with The Shobe Financial Group, has earned the Certified Financial Planner designation from the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards. Certification is based on experience, completion of an education program and examination.

Dr. Elizabeth Curtis and Dr. James Westerfield, associate medical directors, of Hospice Compassus – Baton Rouge have earned subspecialty certification in hospice and palliative medicine from the American Board of Medical Specialties.

LSU law center professor Lee Ann W. Lockridge has been elected to the American Law Institute, made up of 4,000 lawyers, judges and law professors who draft, discuss, revise and publish restatements of law, model statutes and principles of law that are influential in courts and legislatures, as well as in legal scholarship and education. Her research, writing and teaching focus on intellectual property law, including trademark, copyright and patent law.

Greg Vidrine, owner of Winners Circle in Baton Rouge, has been inducted into the Louisiana Independent Tire Dealers Association Hall of Fame. Induction is based on lifetime achievements and proven success and leadership in the industry, as well as public service.


Tulane Law School has inducted its inaugural class into its Hall of Fame, which recognizes accomplished alumni and faculty members spanning the school’s 166-year history.

Those inducted posthumously are Hale Boggs, arts and sciences 1935 and law 1937; John J. Hainkel Jr., arts and sciences 1959 and law 1961; Joseph Merrick Jones, arts and sciences and law 1925; Bessie Margolin, law 1930; Ferdinand Stone, faculty; and John Minor Wisdom, law 1929.

Living inductees are Russ M. Herman, arts and sciences and law 1966; Marian Mayer Berkett, law 1937; Wayne J. Lee, arts and sciences 1971 and law 1974; Max Nathan, law 1960; Jacques L. Wiener Jr., law 1961; and John Giffen Weinmann, arts and sciences 1950 and law 1952.