Laura Simpson, president of Dugas Pest Control, was presented the Paul Adams Award of Excellence by the Louisiana Pest Management Association.

The association recognized her contributions, skills and leadership to the industry as part of local, state and national organizations.

Layna Cook Rush, a shareholder in Baker Donelson's Baton Rouge law office, has earned a Certified Information Privacy Professional credential from the International Association of Privacy Professionals.

The credential is based on a foundational understanding of privacy and data protection law and practice and knowledge of jurisdictional laws, regulations and enforcement models. Rush is a graduate of LSU's Paul M. Hebert Law Center.


Dr. Kenneth Arceneaux, of the MedVet Medical and Cancer Center for Pets in Mandeville and resident of Covington, has been named 2017 Distinguished Alumnus of the Year by the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine.

The award recognizes outstanding professional accomplishments, personal achievements and contributions to the community through public service.

Arceneaux received his bachelor's degree in 1983 from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, previously the University of Southwestern Louisiana, and completed his doctor of veterinary medicine at LSU in 1993. In 1999, Arceneaux was one of the founding members of the Louisiana Veterinary Referral Center in Mandeville.


The Louisiana Travel Promotion Association, which has changed its name to the Louisiana Travel Association, honored graduates of the Louisiana Tourism Leadership Academy.

The academy is designed to strengthen knowledge and skills that benefit its participants' tourism-related organizations and the state's tourism industry.

Graduates from the area are Marica Brewster, with Von Mack Agency in New Orleans; Alvon Brumfield, with Louisiana Renaissance Festival in Hammond; Zondra Jones, with St. Tammany Parish Tourist Commission in Mandeville; Leslie Landeche, with Mardi Gras World in New Orleans; Barry Landry, with Louisiana Office of Tourism in Baton Rouge; Kaylie Leblanc, with Lafayette Convention and Visitors Commission; Joshua McNemar and Jessica Ragusa, with Office of the Lieutenant Governor in Baton Rouge; Madeline Sanchez, with Louisiana Travel Association in Baton Rouge; Timika Spurlock, with Sheraton New Orleans; Stella Thorton, with Louisiana Tax Free Shopping in New Orleans; and Kellie Walters, with Louisiana’s Cajun Bayou in Lafourche Parish.