Baton Rouge AREA

Thomas J. Phillips Jr. has been named president of the Society of Louisiana Certified Public Accountants.

Phillips is the chairman of the Department of Accounting and holds the Thomas H. Daigre Endowed Chair in the E.J. Ourso College of Business at LSU in Baton Rouge.

Other society officers are Brook Harvey III, a director in the accounting and assurance services group at Postlethwaite & Netterville in Baton Rouge, president-elect; Ralph Bender, chief financial officer of Manship Media, treasurer; Jason MacMorran, a drector with P&N Consulting in Baton Rouge, member-at-large; and Lisa Traina, president of Traina & Associates in Baton Rouge, immediate past president.


Maurice J. Coleman has been promoted to deputy chief investment officer for the Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana.

Coleman has been with TRSL since 2009 as the director of private markets, where he oversaw about $4.3 billion in real estate and alternative assets.


Dr. Greg LeBlanc has been named a partner at Baton Rouge Physical Therapy-Lake Rehabilitation Centers LLC.

LeBlanc is clinical director of the BRPT-Lake location on Brittany Drive in Baton Rouge.


Malcolm Carter has been named director/plant manager in the Scotts Miracle-Gro Co.’s growing media division in Geismar.

Carter was operations manager of polytetrafluoroethylene manufacturer IPM, North

America’s branch of Guarniflon SPA.



Larry L. Merington has been named chief executive officer of Ace Bayou Corp. in New Orleans, a home furniture manufacturer and maker of the X Rocker line of sound chairs.

Merington was chief operating officer of the company during 2004-07. He is a retired U.S. Air Force colonel, whose tours of duty include Saudi Arabia, Bosnia and Afghanistan.


C apt. Allen J. “AJ” Gibbs has been elected president of the 110-member Crescent River Port Pilots’ Association.

Gibbs had served as president previously for 11 years.

Other officers and board members are Capt. Scott A. Loga, vice president; Capt. Eric M. Short, secretary; and Capt. Craig B. Clasen and Capt. E. Michael Bopp, directors. Capt. Keith C. Siverd II was elected as captain of the Pilottown Station.


Edward Kerkow has been named a technology delivery executive and director of public sector, technology management solutions, in New Orleans at GCR Inc.

Kerkow was the city of New Orleans’ interim chief information officer.


Craig Huval has been named director of actuary services at Peoples Health in Metairie.

Huval was director of actuary services for Gilsbar LLC.