The LSU E.J. Ourso College of Business has inducted into its 2018 Hall of Distinction Class Claire L. Cagnolatti and Maurice J. “Skip” Robichaux III, recognizing their contributions in the areas of business, academia, government or the community.

Cagnolatti is the vice president of chemicals for HSB Solomon Associations LLC consulting firm in Dallas. She graduated from LSU with a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering in 1978 and a master of business administration in 1982. She is a member of the Dean’s Advisory Council at the E.J. Ourso College and serves on many other LSU boards.

Robichaux is a partner with the KPMG LLP professional services firm. He serves as state and local tax leader for the firm’s west region. He got his start with KPMG in New Orleans before moving to Houston and Denver. Robichaux graduated from LSU with a bachelor’s degree in accounting in 1983 and is a member of the Dean’s Advisory Council at the E.J. Ourso College, chairing the group’s corporate partnerships committee.

Baton Rouge Clinic received an AMGA Foundation Together 2 Goal Best Performance1 Award by a Small Group2 recognizing its achievements in diabetes care and reported results for diabetes patients on a variety of measures, including blood sugar control, blood pressure control, lipid management and testing for kidney disease.

The foundation’s Together 2 Goal campaign is part of a national initiative uniting 150 medical groups and health systems in an effort to improve care for 1 million people with Type 2 diabetes by 2019.


Ochsner Hospital for Children received the Children’s Hospital Association Pediatric Quality Award in the category of patient safety and care in its pediatric intensive care unit.

The association's Pediatric Quality Awards honor and share best practices for pediatric improvement initiatives that can be replicated in children’s hospitals. Ochsner Hospital for Children was honored as the top example based on 110 submissions from 60 children’s hospitals across the country.

Feeding America, the national hunger-relief charity, awarded Natalie Jayroe, president and chief executive officer of Second Harvest Food Bank of Greater New Orleans and Acadiana, with the 2018 Dick Goebel Public Service Award for outstanding commitment to ending hunger in her community and across the country.

Jayroe was recognized for her more than 20 years in the food bank world, serving in capacities that range from founder, board member and her current position and for disaster responses to Hurricane Katrina, the BP oil spill and 2016 flooding. Second Harvest distributes commodities to eligible, needy families under the Food Bank Program in 23 south Louisiana parishes. Jayroe also has served on Feeding America’s policy engagement and advocacy committee since 2011.


The Louisiana Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association presented its annual Pelican Award to Valero Energy Corp. and Blue Heron Award to Don G. Briggs, retired president of the Louisiana Oil and Gas Association.

The Pelican Award recognizes achievements in the industry and contributions to the state. Valero is one of the largest employers in southeast Louisiana, with refineries in St. Charles and Meraux generating a multimillion-dollar annual impact on the state’s economy. The company also was cited by the association as one of the most community-minded companies in America.

The Blue Heron Award recognizes an individual who has had an exceptional impact on the oil and gas industry. Briggs has been prominent in Louisiana’s oil and gas industry for more than 50 years. He spent the first half of his career working in the industry, eventually operating his own oil and gas service company. He spent the latter half of his career as president of the Louisiana Oil and Gas Association, retiring earlier this year. His career spanned 10 Louisiana governors and countless changes and challenges in the oil and gas industry.