The Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals has recognized Jeffrey J. Risher, assistant professor in the Department of Marketing and Supply Chain Management in Southeastern Louisiana University’s College of Business, for his doctoral dissertation research.

Risher’s study explores the outcomes of firms that are reintroducing domestic manufacturing in the United States, completed as part of Risher’s studies at Kennesaw State University in Kennesaw, Georgia, where he was awarded a doctorate in marketing.

Risher received a degree in marketing from Mississippi State University and his Master of Business Administration from Southeastern and joined the faculty in 2016. He had worked in logistics planning for several companies.

Ralph Hennessy, interim director of aviation at Baton Rouge Metro Airport, received the 2017 President’s Award for leadership, dedication and loyal service to aviation in Louisiana from the Louisiana Airport Managers and Associates.

Hennessy has been assistant director of aviation at the Baton Rouge airport for 14 years. He has a bachelor's degree in aviation management from Louisiana Tech University in Ruston.

The Commission on Medical Physics Education Programs has granted full reaccreditation to the Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center medical physics residency program.

Mary Bird Perkins has been accredited by the organization since 2014.


Lafayette General Health has been awarded the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society 2017 Enterprise Nicholas E. Davies Award of Excellence for outstanding achievement for its use of predictive medical technology to improve patient outcomes.

Lafayette General uses sepsis early prediction technology to identify and treat conditions before they worsen. Sepsis is the body’s extreme response to an infection. It happens when chemicals, released by the immune system to fight an infection, enter the bloodstream but cause inflammation throughout the body. This can result in changes that damage multiple organ systems and other life-threatening conditions.


University of New Orleans civil engineering professor Norma Jean Mattei is the first woman selected as a national honor member of Chi Epsilon, an honor society for civil engineering students and professionals.

The honor is based on accomplishments in the civil engineering field and contributions to the organization’s vision, mission and purpose. Of more than 114,000 Chi Epsilon members nationwide, Mattei is the 64th person elevated to national honor member status. She is past president of American Society of Civil Engineers and is serving a nine-year term as one of three civilian engineers on the Mississippi River Commission advising Congress and the executive branch on matters related to the Mississippi River watershed. She has served on Louisiana's licensing board for professional engineers and land surveyors and sits on the nominating committee for the Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection Authority and has held multiple positions within the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying.

Mattei earned her bachelor’s and doctoral degrees from Tulane University.

Initiative for a Competitive Inner City has honored businessman Scott Schenck, of Pontchartrain Landing, as an Inner City 100 for his innovative ideas for bringing business to the inner city.

Pontchartrain Landing is a recreational vehicle resort and deep-water marina at 6001 France Road on the Industrial Canal near Lake Pontchartrain. Amenities include a restaurant, bar, vacation rental villas, RV sites, a boat launch, event venue and daily shuttles to the French Quarter. A waterfront tiny home community also is planned.

Schenck’s company is featured in Fortune magazine as one of the fastest-growing city businesses by revenue growth.

Alicia Dean, program director for trauma services and bone marrow transplant unit at Tulane University, has been inducted as a fellow in the Academy of the Emergency Nurses.

The academy, established by the Emergency Nurses Association, honors contributions to emergency nursing and leadership to the organization and academy. Dean has served on the board of directors of the Louisiana Council of the Emergency Nurses Association for many years and is president elect for 2018.


The Louisiana Emergency Nurses Association has presented Nurse Excellence Awards to recipients from the local area: Tracy Tumey, of East Jefferson Hospital in New Orleans, the Nursing Practice Award; Jacqueline Venable, of Lafayette General Medical Center in Lafayette, the Patient Champion Award; Rachel Qaisieh, of Lafayette General Medical Center the Leadership Award; Christin Mohon, of Lafayette General Medical Center, the Nursing Mentor Award; Rose Lawrence, of Baton Rouge, Distinguished Service Award; and Brenda Brown, of Zachary, Distinguished Service Award for 30 years as a board member.

Audubon Louisiana has named to its advisory board Van R. Mayhall Jr., senior partner in Baton Rouge law firm Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, and Larry Avery, a managing partner of Gulf Island Shrimp & Seafood.

The organization works to protect birds and restore their habitat.

The Louisiana Society of Association Executives recognized Thomas Wright, staff attorney for the Louisiana Association for Justice in Baton Rouge, with its Executive of the Year Award; Pamela Mitchell, former executive director of the Louisiana Press Association in Baton Rouge, the President’s Award; Karen Primeaux, vice president of convention sales at the Lafayette Convention & Visitors Commission, Supplier of the Year Award; and Polly Prince Johnson, president and chief executive officer of the Louisiana Association of Broadcasters in Baton Rouge, Past President Plaque.