Congressman Charles W. Boustany Jr., R-Lafayette, has been presented the Eugene J. Schreiber Award by the World Trade Center New Orleans. The award recognizes individuals who demonstrate a record of promoting international business and diplomacy at the highest levels of public or private service for the benefit of the state of Louisiana.

Boustany, a cardiovascular surgeon elected to Congress in 2004 from Louisiana’s 3rd Congressional District covering south Louisiana, was honored for championing health care reform, international trade and sound energy policy.


Kristi Newell, of First Guaranty Bank in Hammond, has earned the Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialist designation from the Association of Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialists.

The designation is based on an examination and expertise in anti-money laundering detection and enforcement.

The LSU College of Engineering announced inductions into its Society for Engineering Excellence, consisting of members who have made lifetime commitments of $1 million or more to LSU’s College of Engineering. They are:

Oscar “Dub” Andras, a 1957 chemical engineering alumnus, and wife Mary, of the Andras Foundation, have been strong supporters of the Cain Department of Chemical Engineering.

BASF Corp. is a strategic partner that has supported scholarships, professorships and student organization initiatives and recently announced a contribution to establish a sustainable living laboratory.

Rene R. Joyce, a 1970 mechanical engineering alumnus and the executive chairman of Targa Resources, and his wife Kay have endorsed the engineering campus expansion.

MMR Group Inc., whose president is James “Pepper” Rutland, a 1972 LSU construction technology alumnus. The company provided a philanthropic gift to establish two new laboratories: a building simulation and information modeling studio, and an advanced materials and methods laboratory.

The Guidry Foundation was established by Mark and the late Carolyn Guidry, and their children and spouses: Gayle and John Dilley, Mike and Barbara Guidry, and David and Jennifer Guidry. The foundation presented contributions for the Division of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the College of Engineering.


Lafayette General Endoscopy Center has been awarded a three-year Certificate of Recognition for Quality in Endoscopy from the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy.

The certification recognizes a commitment to patient safety and quality. Lafayette General Endoscopy Center has received recognition since 2009.


The Louisiana Bar Foundation has named as Fellows Suzanne M. deMahy, an attorney with Lamm & deMahy in New Iberia; C. Thomas Bienvenu Jr., an attorney with Haik, Minville & Grubbs LLP in St. Martinville; Michael Sean Walsh, an attorney with Taylor, Porter, Brooks & Phillips LLP in Baton Rouge; Kristin L. Beckman, an attorney with Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman Sarver LLC in New Orleans; Jennifer C. Deasy, an attorney in New Orleans; and Judge Robert H. Morrison III, with the 21st Judicial District Court in Amite. The foundation works to improve the justice system and promotes equal justice under the law.