Jesse Cannon, the late New Orleans architect, was awarded the highest award given by the American Institute of Architects Louisiana, the Medal of Honor, during the awards presentation of the AIA Louisiana 2021 Conference on Architecture.

Cannon served as public sector architect and assistant circuit executive for space and facilities for the U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals. His design expertise and management skills shaped the planning, design and construction of more than 200 new federal courthouses and renovation projects in Louisiana, Texas and Mississippi.

He chaired boards and held key leadership roles for AIA New Orleans and AIA Louisiana, last serving as president of AIA Louisiana in 2019. He was also part of an elite group of Louisiana architects inducted into the AIA College of Fellows.


Jessica Walker, principal architect with workshopWDXL in New Orleans, received the prestigious AIA LA Emerging Professionals Award at the American Institute of Architects Louisiana 2021 Conference on Architecture awards presentation.

A graduate of Tulane University School of Architecture, Walker worked on award-winning designs at firms such as Mathes Brierre Architects and Coleman Partners Architects. She has served in leadership positions with the AIA Student Association and was selected to open and lead the Coleman Partners office in New Orleans. She then formed workshopWDXL with David Demsey.


The American Institute of Architects Louisiana recently presented its AIA LA Design Awards

The three Honor Level Awards went to the firms of EskewDumezRipple and Colectivo in New Orleans, and the Dyke Nelson Architecture firm in Baton Rouge. Firms receiving Merit Level Awards included studioWTA, Trapolin-Peer Architects, John C. Williams Architects, and Trahan Architects, all of New Orleans. In addition, Louisiana architects awarded the New Orleans firm M2 Studio with the Members’ Choice Award.


Top stories in Baton Rouge in your inbox

Twice daily we'll send you the day's biggest headlines. Sign up today.

The U.S. Hispanic Chamber of Commerce awarded the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Louisiana 2021 Medium Chamber of the Year at the 2021 USHCC National Conference.

Each year, the national chamber recognizes three chambers of commerce in the small, medium and large categories for their contributions to the Hispanic business community.

The Louisiana chamber was honored for quickly and efficiently adjusting to a new style of programming following the pandemic. It has managed to uninterruptedly serve the Hispanic business community and operate in a new environment.


St. Tammany Corp. took home professional honors at this year’s International Economic Development Council 2021 Excellence in Economic Development Awards.

The organization received silver awards for economic excellence in the category of special purpose website for and in the category of magazine and newsletter for St. Tammany Now. It earned a bronze award in magazine and newsletter for The AnalyST.


Lillian E. Eyrich, a senior associate at Steeg Law Firm, was recognized by Best Lawyers as the 2022 Lawyer of the Year for Real Estate Law in New Orleans.

This is the second time Eyrich has received the peer honor from Best Lawyers in America.