Dr. Marty Garrett was presented the Distinguished Service Award from the Louisiana Dental Association.

The award recognizes high standards of professional conduct in dentistry and contributions to the dentistry profession and community. Garrett has been a member of the state association, the American Dental Association and the Greater Baton Rouge Dental Association for 35 years and has been active at all levels. He is a past president of the Baton Rouge and state organizations and chaired numerous committees. He also is a board member for the Louisiana Dental Political Action Committee and a Louisiana Dental Association Foundation/Louisiana Mission of Mercy planning committee member and volunteer.

Kristen Pforr, vice president of operations for chemical intermediates at BASF in Geismar, received a Manufacturing Institute 2018 STEP Ahead Award

The science, technology, engineering and production program annually honors women for their leadership, advocacy, mentorship and engagement in the sector. The program encourages women to consider manufacturing as a career and helps them overcome shared challenges. Pforr was among 130 women in manufacturing recognized nationally by the organization.


Tulane Health System dermatologist Dr. Erin Boh was named Outstanding Physician/Clinician of the Year by the National Psoriasis Foundation for her efforts to help patients and advance new treatments for the chronic autoimmune disease.

With more than 28 years’ experience in dermatology, Boh is an expert in treating and managing psoriasis, which affects more than 8 million people in the U.S. She participates in a number of clinical research projects involving psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis and lymphoma. She started a psoriatic disease teaching program at the Tulane University School of Medicine, created a  clinical trials unit and authored many chapters in dermatology textbooks about the disease. She’s also an advocate for psoriatic patients.


The Louisiana Bar Foundation presented Distinguished Jurist Awards to Judge W. Eugene Davis, of U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in New Orleans, and posthumously to Judge James J. Brady, of U.S. District Court – Middle District of Louisiana in Baton Rouge; Distinguished Attorney Award to Kim M. Boyle, of Phelps Dunbar LLP in New Orleans; Distinguished Professor Award to Oliver A. Houck, of Tulane University Law School in New Orleans; and Calogero Justice Award to Robert S. Noel II, of Monroe.

The awards recognize people who have distinguished themselves in their profession and brought credit and honor to the legal profession.

Louisiana Economic Development and the U.S. Small Business Administration announced the 2018 Louisiana Small Business Award winners who exemplify the entrepreneurial spirit of the state. The Louisiana Small Business Award winners as 2018 Small Business Award Champions are Young Entrepreneur of the Year Matthew Kincaid, of Overcoming Racism, New Orleans; Minority Business Champion Mayra Pineda, of the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Louisiana, New Orleans; Women’s Business Champion Andrea Chen, of Propeller Incubator, New Orleans; Louisiana Small Business Advocate of the Year Cindy Carrier, of the Louisiana Procurement Technical Assistance Center, Denham Springs; and Small Business Person of the Year Keith Porta, of APC Construction LLC, Harvey.

The 2018 Region VI Small Business Development Center Excellence and Innovation Center Award went to Heidi Melancon, of the Louisiana Small Business Development Center at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

LED Entrepreneur Award winners for 2018 are Small and Emerging Business of the Year to Kristi Mirambell, of K-Belle Consultants, New Orleans; Small Business Excellence Award to Holly Chaney and Elizabeth Eure, of Downtown Healthcare and Wellness, Baton Rouge; Most Outstanding Business Growth Award to Leo L. Holzenthal Jr., of M S Benbow & Associates, Metairie; Small Business Bonding Support Partner of the Year to Whitney Bank, New Orleans; LEDC Bank of the Year to Danny Domingue, of Farmers State Bank & Trust Co., Youngsville.

Louisiana Procurement Technical Assistance Center Contractor of the Year to Alvinette Teal, of JESCO Environmental & Geotechnical Services Inc., Jennings; MEPOL Small Manufacturing Award to Allison Bonin, of Advanced Graphic Engraving, Broussard; National Federation of Independent Business Small Business Champion to Ken Peyton, of Cypress Equipment Services, Geismar; U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development Lender of the Year to Ken Hale, Bank of Montgomery, Natchitoches; USDA Rural Development Borrower of the Year to Walker Alford and Randy Seegers, of All Hours Fitness, Many; and 2018 Hudson and Veteran Champions Office of State Procurement Agencies Recognition to Ava Dejoie, Louisiana Workforce Commission, and James  Donelon, Louisiana Department of Insurance.