Business Honors for March 6, 2016 _lowres

Stephen Estopinal, of SJB Group


The Louisiana Engineering Society presented Stephen Estopinal, assistant surveying department manager at SJB Group, with the Leo M. Odom Award for Services to the Profession.

The award is given to a member of the organization for distinguished service to the engineering profession in Louisiana.

The late H. Rouse Caffey, former LSU Agricultural Center chancellor, and Steve Linscombe, rice breeder and director of the LSU AgCenter H. Rouse Caffey Rice Research Station, are being inducted into the Louisiana Agricultural Consultants Association Hall of Fame.

Caffey was LSU AgCenter chancellor from 1984 until 1997 and had been rice station director from 1962 until 1970. He was credited with the rice station’s success and the LSU AgCenter’s work with developing nations.

Linscombe has secured $17 million in grants for the AgCenter during his 34-year career. He has developed 32 of the 52 rice varieties released from the rice station.

City Year Baton Rouge, an education-focused national service organization that unites young adults for a year of service in high-need schools, has recognized Dee Dee Reilly, community activist, and Entergy Louisiana for their investment in education and dedication to helping students and schools succeed.


The Louisiana Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates presented its Thomas Jefferson Justice by the People Award to U.S. District Court Judge Carl J. Barbier.

The award recognizes a person who “most exemplifies respect for and devotion to the right to trial by jury.”