Charles Davoli, managing partner of the Davoli & Krumholt law firm in Baton Rouge,  received the 2017 Workers’ Injury Law & Advocacy Group President’s Award.

The award recognizes outstanding support, volunteer service and dedication to the mission and goals of the national, nonprofit membership organization of workers’ compensation, state and federal disability, and employment-related trial lawyers.

Dr. Eric Ravussin, associate director of the Department of Obesity and Diabetes at LSU’s Pennington Biomedical Research Center, received the 2017 Friends of Albert (Mickey) Stunkard Lifetime Achievement Award recognizing a lifetime of contributions to the field of obesity in terms of scholarship, mentorship and education.

Ravussin is a world expert in obesity and Type 2 diabetes research. He earned his Ph.D. in human physiology from the University of Lausanne, Switzerland, and joined Pennington Biomedical in 2000. Ravussin also has mentored more than 60 postdoctoral fellows.

Ravussin led a research study, which found that reducing calories up to 25 percent in people who were not obese could reduce the risk for chronic disease, improve quality of life and have a positive effect on predictors of longevity. He is working on a research study which aims to explain how exercise impacts bodies at the cellular level and could help with the development of personalized exercise programs.

The American Society of Landscape Architects presented Kenneth Bahlinger with the Lagasse Medal, which recognizes contributions to the management and conservancy of natural resources and public landscapes.

Bahlinger has worked for the Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority and Louisiana Department of Natural Resources for 26 years. He was cited for his work and leadership on the Coastal Vegetative Planting Program, the Christmas Tree Recycling Program, as the landscape architect of record on numerous vegetative planting projects and as a senior project manager of multiple, large-scale restoration projects.


Cres Gardner, vice president of Beau Box New Orleans, received a 2017 National Commercial Award from the National Association of Realtors.

Gardner was recognized for his achievement in commercial real estate in the past year and was among 39 recipients in the country.

Michelle Gobert, owner and president of Image360 – Central New Orleans, received a Women in Print Award at the 2017 Specialty Graphic Imaging Association Expo.

The award was based on leadership, forward thinking, experience, community involvement, mentorship, awards, certifications and other factors. Gobert began operations as a sign business in mid-1990. In the early 2000s, Gobert's husband left his engineering job at IBM to bring his information systems and print technology skills to the print center. Three months ago, the business was rebranded from Signs Now – NOLA to Image360 – Central New Orleans. Clients include the NBA, NHL, MLB and NFL. 

Christine M. Vinson, president of Vinson Guard Service Inc., was presented the Vinson–Holmes Memorial Security Professional of the Year Award by the World Association of Detectives.

The award honors members in the security field who have demonstrated excellence, leadership, and business acumen in an entrepreneurial endeavor and was renamed in 2015 for past association and Vinson President J.D. Vinson Jr., Christine Vinson's father who founded the company in 1963. The family-owned company operates 20 branch locations as one of the largest privately owned security organizations in the United States.


The Louisiana Association of Business and Industry announced its 2017 Free Enterprise Awards corporate and individual winners from a statewide nominations and selection process that was based on dedication to their employees, local communities and Louisiana. Honorees are Roland M. Toups, Turner Industries Group LLC in Baton Rouge, the Ed Steimel Achievement Award honoring long-standing membership and service to LABI and Louisiana; Free Enterprise Champions Donny Rouse, Rouse’s Supermarkets in Thibodaux, Young Businessperson Award, and John J. Finan Jr., Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady Health System in Baton Rouge, and James M. Lapeyre Jr., Laitram LLC in Harahan, Businessperson Award; Graphic Packaging International Inc. in West Monroe, Company of the Year greater than 100 employees; LUBA Workers’ Comp in Baton Rouge, Company of the Year less than 100 employees; Dow Chemical Co. in Plaquemine, Manufacturer of the Year more than 100 employees; Cajun Chef Products Inc. in St. Martinville, Manufacturer of the Year less than 100 employees; SSA Consultants in Baton Rouge, Workforce Innovator of the Year Award for innovative contributions to workforce development in Louisiana; and North Louisiana Economic Partnership in Monroe, Economic Development Partner of the Year Award.

A reception honoring winners will be held at 6:30 p.m. Nov. 16 at APTIM headquarters in Baton Rouge.