Public accounting firm Faulk & Winkler has named C. Alex Tucker as tax department director and Scott Lazarone as director in the firm’s audit department.

Tucker was director of global tax accounting for Albemarle Corp. and has nearly 16 years of experience in the private and public sectors of accounting.

Lazarone joined Faulk & Winkler in 2012 as a staff accountant and was promoted in 2015 to manager in the audit department. He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accounting at LSU.

Law firm Hammonds, Sills, Adkins & Guice LLP has named as partners Wayne T. Stewart in its Baton Rouge office and Linda K. Ewbank in its Monroe office.

Stewart’s practice focuses on special education defense cases and Section 504 law, providing legal guidance and a defense to school districts in connection with due process hearings, state-level administrative complaints, Office for Civil Rights complaints and lawsuits. Stewart is a graduate of Duke University, LSU and Loyola University. He holds a PhD in psychology and a juris doctorate.

Ewbank is a key member of the firm's civil defense litigation team, specializing in insurance, medical malpractice and workers’ compensation defense. She is a graduate of Northeast Louisiana University and LSU. She has a Masters of Business Administration degree and juris doctorate.

Jimmy Anthony has been named administrative director for the Retired State Employee Association.

He retired in 2016 as assistant secretary of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. He holds a bachelor's degree in wildlife management and a master's degree in biology from Northeast Louisiana University, now the University of Louisiana in Monroe.


photo -- Emily Vuxton has been named policy director at the Coalition to Restore Coastal Louisiana in its New Orleans office, focusing on coastal policy at all levels of government.

With the support of members and volunteers, CRCL implements restoration projects across coastal Louisiana. Vuxton was a coastal policy specialist at the Institute for Water Resources at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in Alexandria, Virginia, where she supported a number of environmental, coastal and navigation initiatives. She has a master’s degree from Duke University in coastal environmental management and a bachelor’s degree from the University of Florida in zoology.

Tulane Health System has promoted Eduardo "Ed" Medina to director of transplant services and named Helen "Gigi" Spicer as vice president of transplant services for the downtown campus.

Medina has 34 years of experience in health care, having joined Tulane Health System in 2007 as a transplant coordinator. He holds the rank of lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Air Force, serves as chief nursing officer and executive management committee member. Medina earned a bachelor's degree in nursing from William Carey College and master's in organizational management from the University of Phoenix.

Spicer will be responsible for the overall direction of the health system’s transplant service line and direct the business operations and strategic direction of the Tulane Transplant Institute. Spicer was clinical director of transplant services at Henrico Doctors’ Hospital in Richmond, Virginia, with an overall 27 years in its kidney transplant program. She received a bachelor's degree in nursing from the Medical College of Virginia.

Jennifer Manning, associate dean for undergraduate programs at LSU Health New Orleans School of Nursing, has been appointed by Gov. John Bel Edwards to a four-year term on the Louisiana State Board of Nursing.

Manning is a certified nurse educator and a board certified clinical nurse specialist. Manning earned her doctor of nursing science degree at LSU Health New Orleans School of Nursing after completing her master's and bachelor's nursing degrees there.


The Pelican Chapter of Associated Builders and Contractors has elected Trey Crawford, of Grady Crawford Construction, as 2018 chairman of the board of directors.

Other officers are Donn Peterson, of Group Industries LLC, chairman-elect; Lee Mayeux, of Cajun Industries LLC, secretary; and Ryan Girouard, of Whitney Bank, treasurer. Vice chairs and their areas of responsibility are Shawn Worsham, of Jacobs, education; Jeff Plauche, of Boh Bros. Construction Co., member growth; Josh Rounds, of Performance Contractors Inc., member services; Scott Couper, of PALA-Interstate LLC, governmental relations; and Sarah Taylor, of Gulf Coast Occupational Medicine, outlying areas.

Other directors are Andrew Lopez, of Cajun Industries LLC, immediate past chairman; Carlos Guidry, of Turner Industries Group LLC; Conrad Bourg, of Primoris Services Corp.; Donnie David, of ISC Constructors LLC; Keith Coleman, of Beard Construction Group; Shane Firmin, of Brown & Root Industrial Services LLC; Wes Mincin, of Triad Electric & Controls Inc.; Donnie Braud, of L.S. Womack Inc.; Scott Callaway, of Cajun Industries LLC; Scott McKnight, of BancorpSouth Insurance Services; and Steve Woodson, of Woodson Inc.

The Deep South Equipment Dealers Association has elected as president Leland Morrison, of Baton Rouge.

Other officers are Greg Hollier, of Bunkie, immediate past president; Jeff Adams, of Monroe, vice president; Jeremy Gantt, of Ruston, treasurer; and Vincent Zebeau Jr., of Baton Rouge, executive vice president and corporate secretary.

Directors from the area are Rob Richter, of Sunshine Equipment Co., with locations across south Louisiana, and Thomas Soileau, of Opelousas.