Robby Miller took the top spot in the Tangipahoa Parish president’s race, but didn’t quite garner enough votes to avoid a runoff against Carlos Notariano.

With all 84 precincts reporting, Miller took 14,819, or 49.7 percent, of the 29,834 votes cast, while Notariano earned 13,686 votes or 45.9 percent.

Sean Granger came in a distant third with 1,329 votes, or 4 percent.

Turnout for the election was 40.2 percent.

Miller and Notariano, both Republicans from Hammond, are running to succeed Gordon Burgess, the only president the parish has had since adopting its home rule charter in 1986.

Both men previously sought the job — Miller in 2007, Notariano in 2011 — and were defeated by narrow margins.