Gonzales — Flory Reynolds encouraged teachers to allow themselves to enjoy “those little cherished moments” they experience each day in the classroom.

Reynolds, a retired teacher who continues sharing her teaching gifts, praised and congratulated teachers gathered April 24 at St. Mark Catholic Church for the 38th annual Knights of Columbus Teacher Appreciation banquet.

Reynolds said her 36 years of teaching was just training for her second job teaching female inmates reading and writing.

Three years ago, Reynolds said she was asked to teach inmates who were taking part in a seminary degree program at an area prison.

Before the women could continue with the college classes, she said, they needed instruction in writing and reading.

“I heard God telling me that this is the big stuff” that she was meant to do, she said.

She’s been sharing her talents ever since, she said.

“As teachers, you touch a life,” she said. “It’s what the profession is all about.”

Five Knights of Columbus councils honored 34 parochial and public teachers in Ascension parish during the banquet.

Honored as parishwide public school teachers of the year were Jennifer Lofton, Dutchtown High School; Amy Crain, Dutchtown Middle School; and Pamela Hughes, Pecan Grove Primary School.

Parochial school parishwide teachers of the year were Rebecca Wild, Ascension Catholic High School; Tammy Matirne, Ascension Catholic Middle School; and Vicki J. Poche, St. John Catholic Primary School.

Also honored as teachers of the year were:

  • Goldie Schexnayder, Ascension Catholic Primary.
  • Chrystal Matthews, APPLe Digital Academy.
  • Kristyn Richardson, Carver Primary.
  • Lori Gautreau, Central Middle.
  • Laura Freeman, Central Primary.
  • Lana Rousseau, Donaldsonville Primary.
  • Allison Brignac, Donaldsonville High.
  • Jaime LeJeune, Duplessis Primary.
  • Adam LeBlanc, Dutchtown Primary.
  • Erin Perdue, East Ascension High.
  • Margaret “Peggy” Wardell, Galvez Middle.
  • Evelyn Buquoi, Galvez Primary.
  • Marquita Carter, Gonzales Middle.
  • Doniell Templet, Gonzales Primary.
  • Celeste Carmouche, Lake Elementary.
  • Angela Quebedeaux, Lake Elementary.
  • Melissa Brown Verdigets, Lakeside Elementary.
  • Kimberly Ammons, Lowery Elementary.
  • Lois Polite, Lowery Middle.
  • Amy Roberie, Oak Grove Primary.
  • Amber Lambert, Prairieville Middle.
  • Laurie Richard, Prairieville Primary.
  • Cassidy Collins-Morgan, Sorrento Primary.
  • Bridget Link, Spanish Lake Primary.
  • Lauren Bahlinger, St. Amant High.
  • Jodey Bruno, St. Amant Middle.
  • Jacey Babin, St. Amant Primary.
  • Micha Blanchard, St. Theresa Middle.