Ascension Parish NAACP awards scholarships _lowres

Photo provided by Ty Folwer -- Gathering recently to award scholarship from the NAACP, from left, are Tyler Turner, Ascension Parish NAACP president; Ty Fowler, NAACP vice president; DeVante Williams, executive director; recipients Jonathan Hodah, Kierra Moore, Esarrah Hopkins, Jason Williams, Jaiahna Johnson, Christian Logarbo, Jennay Mitchell and Joshua Nworkorie; Mary J. Riley, secretary; Anthony Christy, treasurer; and Marydine Emery, scholarship committee chairperson.

Eight recent graduates from public high schools in Ascension Parish each received a $500 scholarship from the Ascension Parish NAACP.

The scholarship winners were congratulated for their academic achievements, a news release said.

Receiving scholarships were Essarah Hopkins, Jennay Mitchell and Jason Williams, of Donaldsonville High School; Jonathan Hodah, Christian Logarbo and Kierra Moore, of Dutchtown High School; and Jaiahna Johnson and Joshua Nworkorie, of East Ascension High School.