Ascension Parish community photo gallery for Oct. 15, 2015 _lowres

Photo provided by Jenny Bruno -- Oak Grove Primary School robotics club members include, from left, James Kim, Blaine Hord, Mileah Hugh, Benjamin Ryan, Taylor Lemon, Alec Rutherford, Joshua Dotts, Meghan McCarley, Reagan Chambers and Peyton Conyers.

Oak Grove Primary School in Prairieville has formed its first robotics club, sponsored by teachers Jenny Bruno and Ashley Townsend, aimed at increasing students’ science, technology, engineering and math skills through participation in the FIRST Lego League.

Members are fifth-graders Reagan Chambers, Peyton Conyers, Joshua Dotts, Blaine Hord, Mileah Hugh, James Kim, Taylor Lemon, Meghan McCarley, Alec Rutherford and Benjamin Ryan. The students were selected based on parent and teacher recommendations as well as a detailed application.

The team’s inaugural competition is Nov. 14 at Woodlawn High School. Students are learning to design, build and program Lego robots in addition to planning a community project and an engaging presentation, a news release said.

Bruno and Townsend thank Dutchtown Middle School Robotics Club sponsor Stephanie Gaspard; Ryan Hord, for constructing a competition table for the club’s use; and Shell, for its donation to the club.