The Ascension Parish School Board honored the 2017-18 Students of the Year during its Feb. 6 meeting at Donaldsonville High School.

The board presented awards to one student from each school plus one district winner for fifth, eighth and 12th grades.

"We are so proud and honored to be able to share this moment of celebration and recognition with you,” Superintendent David Alexander said. “You are each amazing students, and it has been fun meeting you and seeing your energy. I know your family, teachers and friends are proud of you. I hope you, too, are proud to be here.

"Continue with those commitments and priorities that allowed you to experience this honor,” Alexander said. “Your perseverance, personal discipline and courage to overcome moments of failure and disappointment are the real award and merits of this evening.”

Dutchtown Primary School’s Caleb Ethan Barrow is the Fifth Grade Student of the Year. He is active in school and the community, including the parish’s Talented and Gifted Program, Robotics Club, Junior Beta Club, basketball, baseball, soccer and his church’s Kidz ministry. Caleb’s awards include principal’s list, Outstanding Accelerated Reader Award, Perfect Attendance Award and Author of the Month. His parents are Steve and Rachael Barrow.

Prairieville Middle School’s Matthew Lass is the Eighth Grade Student of the Year. He holds many membership and leadership roles and is involved in Beta Club, Youth Legislature, Student Council, Mathletes, 4-H, Alpha Club, band, soccer, and track and field. Matthew’s awards include second in the Engineering Mechanics Division at LSU's Engineering and Science Fair, a Certificate of Merit from Duke University's Talent Identification Program and first in weapons with a black belt from the Professional Karate School of America. His parents are Jan and Jackie Lass.

Dutchtown High School’s Christina Robertson is the 12th Grade Student of the Year. She maintains a 4.6 GPA and scored a 33 on the ACT. She is active in clubs, organizations and service to the community, including National Honor Society, Beta Club, Poetry Slam Team, mentoring freshmen at her school and Girls State. She also placed first in the Regional Literary Rally. Christina’s awards include a Certificate of Excellence for being Outstanding Parish Citizen at Louisiana Girls State, first in the Website Division at National History Day in Washington, D.C., and being named an AP Scholar by The College Board. Her parents are Ronald and Gearuell Robertson.

FIFTH GRADE STUDENTS OF THE YEAR: Claire Michelle Delaney, Central Primary School; Olivia Gabriela Puccio, Duplessis Primary School; Caleb Ethan Barrow, Dutchtown Primary School; Michael Anthony Wilson Jr., G.W. Carver Primary School; Carlyle Elise Runfalo, Galvez Primary School; Brooklyn Elise Battle, Gonzales Primary School; Jillian Grace Martin, Lake Elementary School; Ava Leigh Vicknair, Lakeside Primary School; Gavin Khristopher Mitchell, Lowery Elementary School; Jadyn Ann Weatherly, Oak Grove Primary School; Christian Leann Burnett, Pecan Grove Primary School; Demi Marie Dubois, Prairieville Primary School; Ryleigh Renee Moran, Sorrento Primary School; Addison Rae Heinz, Spanish Lake Primary School; and Kate Madison Rizzo, St. Amant Primary School.

EIGHTH GRADE STUDENTS OF THE YEAR: Alicia Jane Stanga, Central Middle School; Alexis Michel Logarbo, Dutchtown Middle School; Jacie Nicole Jacob, Galvez Middle School; Caris B. Green, Gonzales Middle School; Kylie Anna Trosclair, Lake Elementary School; Donalynn Alayshia Daniels, Lowery Middle School; Matthew Corzo Lass, Prairieville Middle School; and Mya Chrisie Bascom, St. Amant Middle School.

12TH GRADE STUDENTS OF THE YEAR: Brittany Rochelle Collins, Donaldsonville High School; Christina Marie Robertson, Dutchtown High School; Lauren Elizabeth Michelli, East Ascension High School; and Travis Daniel Braud, St. Amant High School.