A fifth-grader who would like to be a neurosurgeon one day, an eighth-grader who regularly takes home awards from regional science fairs and a senior who has earned more than a semester’s worth of college credit are the district winners of Ascension Parish’s 2016 Student of the Year Award.

Named as winners in three grade levels at the School Board’s meeting Tuesday were Jake Thomas Rizzo, fifth-grader at St. Amant Primary; Hiba Azeem Hasan, eighth-grader at Dutchtown Middle School; and Christopher Michael Bourgeois, a senior at St. Amant High School.

Also honored were the students nominated from each school in the district for the distinction.

Family members, friends, teachers and principals filled the cafeteria at East Ascension High, where the meeting was held, to support their students.

“What an amazing evening to celebrate the accomplishments of these young people,” said schools Superintendent Patrice Pujol.

“We thank you for your hard work,” she told the students, and added thanks to the families, teachers and community behind the students’ accomplishments.

In addition to the district winners, other students named as Student of the Year nominees:

Fifth grade: Serenity Helaire, G.W. Carver; Camille Russell, Central Primary; Kate Rills, Duplessis Primary; Carsyn Wilkison, Dutchtown Primary; Annabelle Richardson, Galvez Primary; Japhen Wilson, Gonzales Primary; Brianne Duhon, Lake Elementary; Ja’Lynn Davenport, Lakeside Primary; Hailey Butler, Lowery Elementary; Andrew Faulkner, Oak Grove Primary; Jolie Daigle, Pecan Grove Primary; Christian Bock, Prairieville Primary; Joshua Antoine, Sorrento Primary; and Hannah Erickson, Spanish Lake Primary.

Eighth grade: Emma Cockrum, Central Middle; Matthew Norris, Galvez Middle; Chloe Milligan, Gonzales Middle; Kameron Trosclair, Lake Elementary; Laura Gutierrez, Lowery Middle; Abby Talbot, Prairieville Middle; and Landry Latour, St. Amant Middle.

12th grade: Lawrence Brown III, Donaldsonville High; Hannah Payne, Dutchtown High; and Antonia Asher, East Ascension High.

The School Board on Tuesday also honored students who had taken part in the 2015 ConnecTeens program of Volunteer Ascension and, together, had contributed 1,064 volunteer hours with 19 nonprofit agencies last year.

The student volunteers are Alexis Anderson, Gonzales Middle; John Denig, Dutchtown High; Ethan Dixon, St. Amant High; Allie St. Pierre, homeschool student; Haiden Warner, St. Amant High; Kara Law and Kayla Winey, both of Dutchtown High; Joshua Law, Prairieville Middle; Cassie Cook, Lake Elementary; and Rachel Cusick, St. Amant High.