Dutchtown Primary awards writing winners _lowres

Photo provided by Annette Becnel -- Gathering Jan. 23 are the winners in Dutchtown Primary School's Authors of the Month contest. Winners include, first row from left, Izayah Jackson, Faith Richards, Abby Taylor, Bryce Morton, Emilee Strzynski and Ayawyn Rayder; second row, Jacob Weber, Madelyn Gautreau, Carmi Burnett, Sophia Garbiras, Devyn Hope and Claire Simmons; and third row, Kaya Forbes, Emma Lamoureaux, Joseph Du, Denton Marks, Ally Kersten, Emily Farns and Jaxson Stovall.

Dutchtown Primary School handed out its Authors of the Month awards to students in prekindergarten through fifth grade Jan. 23.

First-, second- and third-place winners showing exemplary writing were chosen at each grade level by teachers, a news release from the school said.

Prekindergarten winners included Abby Taylor, first, and Faith Richards, second.

Emilee Strzynski won first place in the kindergarten division, with Izayah Jackson placing second and Bryce Morton third.

First-grade winners were Rylie Newcomer in first place, Ayawyn Rayder in second and Carmi Burnett in third.

The second-grade winners were Madelyn Gautreau in first place, Jacob Weber in second and Claire Simmons in third.

Winning the third-grade awards were Sophia Garbiras in first place, Devyn Hope in second and Emily Farns in third.

Fourth-grade winners were Ally Kersten in first place, Joseph Du in second and Denton Marks in third.

Emma Lamoureaux won the fifth-grade contest, with Jaxson Stovall second and Kaya Forbes third.