The Ascension Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority hosted its inaugural Founders Day program at the Clarion Inn and Conference Center in Gonzales on Jan. 24.

The program celebrated the legacy of the sorority’s founders and commemorated 103 years of service. The sorority was founded Jan. 13, 1913, by 22 college women at Howard University.

Keynote speaker was Cynthia M.A. Butler-McIntyre, 24th national president, of Delta Sigma Theta, who was initiated into the sorority through the Beta Gamma Chapter at Dillard University on Nov. 30, 1973.

Other guests included Southwest Regional Director Pamela Rogers, state coordinator Doris Brown, state Sen. Regina Barrow, state Rep. Edward Price, Ascension Parish President Kenny Matassa, Ascension Parish Councilman Oliver Joseph Sr., Donaldsonville City Councilmen Reginald Francis Sr. and the Rev. Charles Brown and Gonzales City Councilman Terence Irvin.

Matassa presented chapter President Hollis Baker-Graves with a proclamation declaring Jan. 24, 2016, as Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Day in Ascension Parish. Francis and Brown also presented a proclamation from Mayor Leroy Sullivan Sr. declaring the day as Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Day in Donaldsonville.

The Ascension Alumnae Chapter was chartered April 15, 2015, in Ascension Parish and is a part of the Southwest Region of Delta Sigma Theta.