ST. FRANCISVILLE — The West Feliciana Parish Police Jury voted 4-3 Tuesday to name fired parish Manager Ambrose Sims to a new economic development panel.

“Oh, my goodness,” Juror Lea Williams said in apparent disbelief when Juror John Cobb cast his vote in favor of Sims’ nomination to the parish’s new Economic Development Board.

Williams, Randy Stevens and Otis Wilson voted against Sims, while jury President Ken Dawson, John Roach and Billy Shoemake joined Cobb in supporting the nomination.

Cobb had voted with Williams, Wilson and Stevens in April to fire Sims as the jury’s top administrator.

The new board was recommended by another economic development study committee, now disbanded, that the jury formed last year after cutting its ties with a private group, the West Feliciana Community Development Foundation.

The jurors broke with CDF after the organization dismissed its executive director.

The jury accepted the study committee’s recommendation to form a permanent Economic Development Board, but jurors could not agree earlier this month on the structure of the panel.

In addition to Sims, the board will include Andrea V. Morrison, Norman Ferachi, Jeff Wheeler, Laurie Walsh, Melvin Harvey Jr., School Superintendent Hollis G. Milton, parish Fire Chief James R. Wood and Chief Sheriff’s Deputy Randy Metz.

The Tourist Commission asked for Walsh’s appointment, while the town of St. Francisville nominated Ferachi.

Harvey, a hospital board member, and Wood, Milton and Metz represent parish agencies that receive local tax revenues.