CLINTON — The East Feliciana Parish Police Jury re-elected Dennis Aucoin as its president Monday and selected Louis Kent as vice president, replacing Ed Brooks.

Brooks nominated Kent for the vice president’s post.

Aucoin became jury president in January 2011, replacing Kent on a 5-4 vote.

Jurors also named J.R. Rouchon as treasurer and Barbara Hebert as secretary, posts they have held since veteran Secretary-Treasurer Judith Kelly retired last year.

On another matter, jurors agreed to let the attorney for Coastal Bridge Co. attempt to settle a lawsuit Gilchrist Construction Co. filed in a bid dispute for paving seven parish roads with a federal hurricane recovery grant.

Gilchrist submitted the low bid for the work, but the jury awarded the contract to Coastal because Gilchrist did not submit the bid in triplicate form, as required by the bid specifications.

The project has been tied up in litigation since March 15.

A state district judge upheld the jury’s action, but Gilchrist has appealed the ruling.

Jurors agreed they would award the contract to Coastal if the firm is successful in settling with Gilchrist.