Jackson Mayor Charles Coleman won a sixth term, and Norwood Mayor Becky Bellue won her third term when qualifying ended at the Clerk of Court’s Office on Friday for the three March 5 municipal elections in East Feliciana Parish.

Coleman and Bellue both qualified without opposition for their posts, according to information posted on the Louisiana Secretary of State’s website.

Coleman also served as a police juror representing Jackson, and Bellue was an alderwoman before succeeding Jimmy L. Garig as mayor in 2008.

Coleman said “a couple of people” had talked about running for mayor but decided against it.

“There’s nobody who wants this job. There’s too many headaches,” Coleman joked.

Bellue said she is grateful for her support and that she was able to win another term without having to campaign.

In Slaughter, Mayor Robbie Jackson is opposed in his bid for a second term by Alderman Nick St. Germain.

Two of the three municipalities have elected law enforcement officials.

Joseph E. Beavers is challenging Slaughter Police Chief Walter Smith Jr., who is seeking his fourth term as the town’s top cop.

Top stories in Baton Rouge in your inbox

Twice daily we'll send you the day's biggest headlines. Sign up today.

Jackson Town Marshal Fred Allen is seeking his third term and is opposed by Mark Dousay.

With St. Germain seeking the mayor’s job in Slaughter and incumbents LaTrelle Cart and Ashby Schwartz not seeking re-election, a total of nine candidates signed up to run for the five seats on the Slaughter Board of Aldermen.

They are incumbents Liz Aaron and Aimee Bellue, along with Dave Almond, Shane Bourgeois, Roy Elliott Corcoran Jr., Janis Landry, Justin Shotwell, Keith Strohpaul and Ramona Wallace.

Seven candidates are running for the five seats on Jackson’s Board of Trustees.

Seeking new terms are incumbents Michael Harrell, Don Havard, Jim Parker and Rafe Stewart. They are joined by Buddy Foreman, former Police Juror Linton Manuel and Dianne Wilson. Incumbent Trustee John Travis, a former state representative, was appointed to serve out the remainder of the term begun by the late John Henry McCrory, but Travis, who is in ill health, did not qualify as a candidate to continue serving.

Longtime incumbent Jim Reynolds also did not seek re-election to the Norwood Board of Aldermen. The candidates are incumbents Willie Duncan and Andy Jelks, former Mayor and Alderman David Jett and Kimmi Adams Sellers.

Mayor Becky Bellue said Reynolds, who was first elected in 1963, will be honored with a special program as his term draws to a close.

Candidates elected in the spring elections will take office on July 1.