BATON ROUGE — LSU alumnus Rep. Steve Scalise, U.S. House Majority Whip and the third-ranking House Republican leader, delivered the keynote address, and LSU graduated one of its largest and most diverse classes at the university's 295th commencement exercises on Friday, May 11.

At the spring commencement ceremony, a total of 3,967 degrees were awarded — the third largest number of degrees awarded in the spring. The overall class of 2017-18 — students receiving degrees in previous summer and fall commencements combined with the current spring commencement — saw 6,497 degrees awarded, the second most awarded in an academic year.

Area graduates include:

East Feliciana Parish

College of Agriculture

Jamira Michelle Brown, Jackson

College of Engineering

Leona Sha'Neecia Brown, Clinton

Joshua Keith DeLee, Clinton

Dakota Cheyenne Havard, Slaughter

William Brian Jones, Clinton

Clara Adeline Roberts, Clinton

Brent Michael Villavaso, Ethel

College of Human Sciences & Education

Mikaela Angel Jarrell, Clinton

College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Theresa Ngoc Han Doan, Clinton

Ryan Tanner Short, Pride

Manship School of Mass Communication

Jacob Russell Zahorchak, Wilson

Graduate School


Alicia Ann Kleinpeter, Ethel

West Feliciana Parish

College of Art & Design

Shannon Lynn Herring, St. Francisville

E. J. Ourso College of Business

Sarah Elizabeth Burrows, St. Francisville

Christian Dale Honeycutt, St. Francisville

Alyssa Beth Kleinpeter, Jackson

College of Engineering

Corey Matthew Gourney, St. Francisville

Aaron Richard MacKellar Holub, St. Francisville

Michael Salvatore Politz, St. Francisville

Eric Brandt Rider, St. Francisville

Austin Nicholas Sellers, St. Francisville

College of Human Sciences & Education

Lauren Michelle Jordan, St. Francisville

College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Caitlin Helen Elrod, St. Francisville

Emily Yvonne Ford, St. Francisville

Derek Austin Heath, St. Fracisville

Caroline Elizabeth Jarvis, St. Francisville

Amanda Mallory Mangham, St. Francisville

Michael Salvatore Politz, St. Francisville

Kara Ann Terry, St. Francisville

Jacob Wade Watts, St. Francisville

Graduate School


William Maxwell Hawkins, St. Francisville