Tangipahoa Professional Women awards $12,000 _lowres

Photo provided by Sandy Summers -- Attending the Tangipahoa Professional Women’s Organization scholarship winners luncheon on June 24 are, front row from left, State Rep. John Bel Edwards and his wife Donna Hutto Edwards, TPW President Rose Dominguez, Kristin Bluain, April Gaydos, Pamela White and TPW Past President Barbara Davis; and back row, Sarah Kron, Rebecca Schnadelbach, Kayleigh Raines, Catherine McRae, Trina Morris, Lakeshia Barnes and TPW Scholarship Chair Suzette Callais. Not pictured are scholarship recipients Darnesha Collier, Crystal Gonzalez and Sarah Poche’.

The Tangipahoa Professional Women’s Organization recently awarded a total of $12,000 in scholarships to women in the community who are pursuing bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees or are set to begin in the fall.

TPW received over 60 applications for this year’s scholarship, and 12 winners were chosen, a news release said. It is the fourth round of awards given by TPW since 2010.

The scholarship winners were honored at a luncheon at the Florida Parishes Arena’s Agricultural Events Center in Amite on June 24. State Rep. John Bel Edwards and Brett K. Duncan sponsored the luncheon.

TPW’s mission is to foster communication and support of area business and professional women.

Monthly luncheon meetings are held on the fourth Wednesday of each month. Visit tangipw.org for more information.