Livingston-Tangipahoa community photo gallery for May 8, 2014 _lowres

Photo provided by LSU UNIVERSITY COLLEGE -- Davis Wascom, of Denham Springs, receives the LSU University College’s Tiger Athletic Foundation Scholarship. Pictured during the award ceremony on April 1, from left, are Davis Wascom and Rick Perry, senior vice president of the Tiger Athletic Foundation.

Davis Wascom received the LSU University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Scholarship presented April 1 during its annual “Celebration of Excellence” Spring Awards program at The Club on Union Square.

Wascom, a freshman majoring in science and engineering, has a 4.00 GPA, and is the son of Robert and Sharman Wascom. He is a graduate of Live Oak High School.

University College awarded $64,000 through 55 scholarships, 10 LSU faculty and one LSU Advisor of the Year Award.

The Tiger Athletic Foundation Scholarship is provided through the support of the LSU Tiger Athletic Foundation. It is awarded to full-time students enrolled in University College having completed a minimum of 15 hours of college level work and who have earned a 3.25 or higher GPA.

“Two important components of student retention are the opportunities to reward students for their academic achievements and to recognize outstanding teaching in the classroom. University College is pleased to have generous donors that allow us to offer scholarships to students who have demonstrated a commitment to their college studies,” said Paul Ivey, executive director of LSU University College. “Our ‘Celebration of Excellence’ ceremony allows us the opportunity to publicly recognize these young scholars.”

The LSU University College Scholarship Selection Committee included chair Norman Deumite, Robert D. Bond, Marvin Borgmeyer, Mimi Close, J. Charles Dabadie, John L. Daniel, Lonnie J. Dore, Anthony Oster, Missy Rockenbaugh, Jennifer Causey Smith and Paul Tweedy.