The Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts in Natchitoches welcomed 160 new students during the school’s annual matriculation ceremony on Sept. 4, a news release said.

The ceremony was held in the A.A. Fredericks Auditorium on the campus of Northwestern State University.

Students from Livingston Parish are Christina Barrilleaux and Presley Simmons, both of Walker; Victoria Greer, of Springfield; Casandra Saxon, of Livingston; and Abbie Boudreaux, Kamryn Dick, Alyssa Kinchen, Jayme Kirkland, Genesis Lambert, Neil Porter and Charles Roppolo, all of Denham Springs. Tangipahoa Parish students are Corey King, of Hammond; and Kaely Morrison, of Loranger.

Recognized guests at the ceremony included Rep. Jimmy Long; Sharon Gehagan, chairwoman of the LSMSA board of directors; Mike McGrath, faculty representative on the LSMSA board of directors; Larry Bossier, member of the LSMSA Foundation board of trustees; Kelly Rodrigue, president of the Parents’ Council; and Shelly Rivers-Lewis, student support services coordinator at the Sabine Parish School Board.

“You’re about to join a new family and embark on a journey you’ll never forget. We’re in this together. Let’s make the most of it,” said Eli Langley, a senior from Elton and president of the Student Government Organization.