State of Education 124 (002).JPG

The Livingston Parish Chamber awarded 21 scholarships at its annual State of Education Breakfast held April 12. Winners included, front row from left, Jasmine Hendry, Albany High School; Katelyn Prescott, Walker High School; Krysta Mostert, Denham Springs High School; Kaitlyn Rayborn, Haleigh Jones and Emily Beever, Doyle High School; and Jessica Litolff, Holden High School; and back row, Macy Dufrene, HHS; Grace Dugas, DSHS; Cameron Hood, WHS; Thomas Fuentes and Austin Barnes, DSHS; Evan Bergeron, WHS; Reeves Blankenship, Springfield High School; Jack Dalberg, Live Oak High School; Nathan Penalber and Eric Forbes, HHS; Caroline Taylor, DSHS; Gabrielle Chenier, LOHS. Not pictured are Shelby Chandler, Springfield High School; and Samantha Hebert, WHS.

The Livingston Parish Chamber of Commerce held its State of Education Breakfast to recognize scholarship recipients and sponsors April 12. 

Guest speaker was Livingston Parish Superintendent Rick Wentzel. The breakfast was sponsored by Jefferson Financial Federal Credit Union and held at the Livingston Parish Public School Facility in Livingston.

The chamber received numerous applications for scholarship awards for 2017 and announced that 21 applicants are receiving awards. Scholarships are awarded in the amount of $500 each and are made possible through voluntary contributions from member businesses.

Winners of the Academic Scholarships are Jasmine Hendry, of Albany High; Austin Barnes, Grace Dugas, Krysta Mostert and Rachel Caroline Taylor, of Denham Springs High; Emily Beever, Haleigh Jones and Kaitlyn Rayborn, of Doyle High; Eric Forbes, Jessica Litolff and Nathan Penalber, of Holden High; Jack Dalberg, of Live Oak High; Reeves Blankenship and Shelby Chandler, of Springfield High; and Evan Bergeron, Cameron Hood and Katelyn Prescott, of Walker High.

The Alice Sibley Award winners are Thomas Fuentes, of Denham Springs High; Gabrielle Chanier, of Live Oak High; and Samantha Hebert, of Walker High.

The Ability Beyond Award winner is Macy Dufrene, of Holden High School.