36 Runnels students qualify for Presidential Award _lowres

Photo provided by Allison Wrenn -- Honored in May as Presidential Academic Scholars at Runnels School are sixth-graders, from left, Niki Barakhashan, Catherine Bonaventure, Cara Brumfield, Joseph Curtis, Michaela Fennell, Annie Fink, Celia Fishbein, Elizabeth Foley, Ben Golden, Sam Haase, Daniel Harris, Richard Harrison, Eric Ho, Bailey Hyatt, Sara Johnston, Jack Kahn and Aiden Kleinpeter. Thirty-six sixth-graders earned the award.

Thirty-six Runnels School sixth-graders qualified for the Presidential Award for Academic Excellence, representing 67 percent of the class, a news release from the school said.

So many students won the award that, by the time all of their names had been called for recognition at the sixth-grade graduation ceremony on May 20 in the Runnels Theater, the line of recipients stretched all the way across the stage and into the wings.

The award is conferred upon students exiting sixth, eighth and 12th grades who maintain a 3.5 grade-point average and score at the 85th percentile on standardized tests.

At Runnels, 65 percent of eighth-graders and 11 percent of the high school graduating class earned Presidential Awards.

Sixth-grade recipients were Niki Barakhshan, Catherine Bonaventure, Cana Brumfield, Joseph Curtis, Michaela Fennell, Annie Fink, Celia Fishbein, Elizabeth Foley, Benjamin Golden, Sam Haase, Daniel Harris, Ricky Harrison, Eric Ho, Bailey Hyatt, Sara Johnston, Jack Kahn, Arden Kleinpeter, Phoenix Knowles, Lance Kraft, Cole Latiolais, Ryan Ly, Anna Manning, Arianna McNeal, Savannah McNeal, Erin Oehrle, Kyra Reeves, Ellie Russo, Julia Sager, Sophie Sanders, Andrew Schacht, Janie Schlotterer, Ian Shaneyfelt, Michael Smith, Reed Stewart, Natalia Tooraen and Parish Vercher.

Eighth-graders honored were Alexander Acosta, Harrison Bonaventure, Ila Bordelon-Walker, Alycia Boucher, Davood Boushehri, Erina Buchholz, Peyton Collett, Elizabeth Daigle, Hannah Fishbein, Allison Garrity, Alden Heck, Catherine Henning, Kaylen Howe, Bruce Huynh, Natalie Justus, Brandon Kelfstrom, Alexander Matthews, Samuel Matthews, Isabelle McCall, Garrett Miller, Carolyn Monett, Sean Parker, Maxwell Peer, Jack Penniman, William Rhinehart, Kaitlyn Roy, Maxwell Sager, Emma Shupe, Nicholas Smith, Austin Stansbury, Michael Stevenson, Charles Thomasee, Caitlyn Thompson, Jesse Tregre, Ethan Wells, Natalie Wilder and Stephen Worsham.

Seniors honored were Caroline Bonaventure, Hannah Boutwell, Erin Dean, Grace Guidroz, Mary Iseral, Amelie Kharey, Matthew Mitchell, Joseph Pusateri, Leila Shammout, Meghana Theegala and Lily Winnett.