Bains Elementary School students can excel in more areas than one, said Bains’ Marilyn Pohlmann.

The student in each homeroom who works the most math problems correctly in the quickest time is the Math Challenge winner for that nine-week grading period, Pohlmann said.

Math Challengers for the third nine-week grading period include:

SECOND GRADE: Hillary Jones, Axel Pattison, Nakiya Pittman, Landon Rourke, Dimitria Rucker, Hunter Teague and Remington Wunstel.

THIRD GRADE: Madelyn Anthony, Tucker Bullock, Broderick Carmenia, Shaniya Dixon, Desmond Roundtree, Gracie Villemarette and Brooke Williams.

FOURTH GRADE: Kim Barrow, Jontré Cummings, Dy’Monique Emery, Jacob Hunter, LaMarcus Mullen, Taylor Summers and Emillié Williams.

FIFTH GRADE: Mackenzie Bedell, Maggie Hawkins, Trey Rogers, Desmonique Roundtree, Keshon Whitaker, Mary Frances Whitehouse and Olivia Wilson.

Students who earn “good citizen” status at Bains are chosen based on the “Leader in Me” program modeled after Sean Covey’s book, “The 7 Habits of Happy Kids,” Pohlmann said.

The seven habits are being proactive; beginning with the end in mind; putting first things first; thinking win-win; seeking first to understand, then to be understood; synergizing; and sharpening the saw.

Pohlmann explained that based on those habits, students take initiative, act responsibly, set goals, listen to others’ ideas, appreciate feelings, work to get along with others, and take care of their bodies by eating right, exercising and getting sleep.

Good citizens for the third nine-week grading period include:

SECOND GRADE: Alyscia Ernest, Landon Hubbard-Fruge, Libby Kate Levasseur, Tia Milton, Kalie Smith, Chris Turner and Avery Weeden.

THIRD GRADE: Aniaya Cage, Shaniya Dixon, Cade Grissett, Makyra Johnson, Ke’Ajah McQuirter, Eli Milton and Gracie Villemarette.

FOURTH GRADE: Mary Camille Bell, Emma Gene Fiser, Hannah Lea, Jamia Raby, Charles Fox-Smith, Olivia Tate and Shelbie Welch.

FIFTH GRADE: Blanche Butler, Dawson Decker, Grace Felker, Jasmin Lucas, Devin McLendon, Tyler Rourke and Brenton Thurman.