Alpha Lambda chapter receives honors _lowres

Photo provided by Joyce Landry -- Alpha Lambda chapter members and teachers representing West Baton Rouge, West Feliciana and Pointe Coupee parishes, attended the Epsilon state convention in Lafayette March 13-15. Members, from left, include Susan Collura, Betsy Stafford, Catherine Olinde, Sandra Purpera, Peggy King, Joyce Landry, Myrna Tuminello and Jo Ann Hebert.

The Alpha Lambda Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma, an international society of women educators, attended its Epsilon state convention March 13-15 in Lafayette.

The Alpha Lambda Chapter, with members from West Baton Rouge, West Feliciana and Pointe Coupee parishes, received a gold Key Chapter Award for its projects, activities and responsibilities.

Peggy King, Alpha Lambda parliamentarian, was appointed Epsilon state executive secretary. A resident of St. Francisville, she is retired from West Feliciana High School.

Brandi Chism, Alpha Lambda first vice president, was named West Feliciana High School’s 2015-16 Teacher of the Year.

Jo Ann Hebert, Alpha Lambda president, was recognized as the National Agriculture Teacher of the Year. She was awarded a Wanda Gunn Live and Learn special stipend and Vivian Bourgeois special stipend. Hebert lives in Pointe Coupee and teaches at Valverda Elementary School, in Maringouin.

Catherine Olinde, Alpha Lambda second vice president, was recognized as the Louisiana Agriculture Teacher of the Year and received a Newsletter Award. Olinde, who is Hebert’s sister, lives in Pointe Coupee Parish and teaches at Valverda Elementary.